Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Instead of frying the potatoes, I boiled the potatoes for approximately 20 minutes. I melted 2 tbsp of butter, instead of 4 tbsp, and combined the remaining ingredients. After the potatoes had cooked, I drained the water and added the mixture. I covered the potatoes and allowed them to set for ten minutes before serving. They were great and I had fewer dishes to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is how I always make my potatoes for breakfast... The only thing I do differently is put a thin layer of water before I cover the potatoes then leave them alone. They come out perfect for me everytime. I use parsley instead of paprika. Love these in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Good but I cooked on low for 10 min and used fingerlink potatoes instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
1st off... YOU MUST USE A GOOD NON STICK PAN FOR THIS! I made the mistake like others and used a reg pan the first time I tried this and I burnt half of it and the other half was mushy... I did make some changes... My 4 potatos were HUGE so it was more like a double batch. I left the skins on and cut the potatoes in half and than cut thicker slices rather than cutting into chunks. I doubled everything and used 6 tbs butter and 6 tbs extra virgin olive oil, just to be healthier. I used 5 large cloves and instead of the chives at the end I diced half a sweet onion and cooked that along w/ the garlic. Doubled the salt and pepper. The first time I made this I used the paprika but this time I was all out and it was still good. I started the cooking directions exactly as written but once done I continued to cook it to get it alittle crisper... I cooked it on med heat and every 5 to 10 mins I would turn/flip the potatoes. It took about 45 mins total and the potatoes were a nice gold brown w/ lots of crispy bits in it. And don't worry about breaking the potatos.. those broken pieces are the pieces that get nice and crispy... That's the best part! This was a HUGE hit and I've made this 3 times in the past 2 weeks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These were fabulous, easy to make and a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadbury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These excellent-especially dipped in sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These were delicious. I added extra garlic, sliced onions, and powdered chicken boullion for more flavor and they came out really good. This method yields flavorful, browned potatoes - the best recipe I have found for home fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Fantastic! I swapped out the butter for some EVOO and baked them instead. I also added 3 extra cloves of garlic and 2 tbs. of Essance of Emeril. My kids gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCKID

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Mine didn't cook for the recommended time. They were done a lot faster. They did start to stick and burn to the bottom of my skillet, but I was able to save them. I used red potatoes since that's what I had on hand and I double all the spices. These had a really great taste and turned out really soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States