Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Excellent! Only substitution was chopped red onion for the chives, since I didn't have any. Also doubled the garlic. Cut the potatoes pretty small so they'd actually cook in about 30 minutes. Going to try 1/2 EVOO and 1/2 butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe and just what I was looking for. I had a small, very ripe tomato from the garden that I diced up and put in as well as 2 leftover pieces of bacon. What a treat!!! Thanks for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAgardener55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Making the potatoes is quite a long process, but it is worth it. They were delicious and a new family favorite. Oh and I used baby reds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Yep, I loved them too! Very, very good - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These potatoes are AWESOME! The most incredible home fries I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly & thought the instructions were perfect! They cooked up crispy on the outside, tender on the inside, and the flavor of paprika & chives is spot on! This will be a repeat in our house for sure! The Hubster said that he would gladly eat these at breakfast, lunch, or dinner. :) Thanks so much for this keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I can't believe how good these were! They are so simple, yet I have already made these 3 times since finding the recipe a month ago. THANK YOU STEVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
With the substitution of extra virgin olive oil for half the butter, this method of cooking home fries worked very well. I especilly liked the fresh chives, but i did not increase the heat when adding them, as my potatoes were cooked through at this point. You could add onions and/or green peppers and vary the seasonings to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I cooked up some bacon and when it was time to make the home fries, I used part of the bacon fat with a little butter to cook the home fries. With an onion, and a side of bacon and eggs.....this is breakfast heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Great home fries! I partially cooked my potatoes first and used seasoned salt vs. regular salt. I added come chopped onion and the addition of fresh chives was great. I did use a non-stick pan - not sure if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were decent. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 EVOO. It was a bit much, maybe next time used 1/2 butter and 1/4 EVOO. I also added a bit more salt (I used Kosher), and a bit more paprika. I thought they were good, and my Easter brunch guests really enjoyed them. (No leftovers) I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States