Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Soooo good! The whole family loves this and makes a great side to almost anything. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I tripled all the spices, and my russets were done before the "mix in chives" step so I didn't need the final 10 minutes. It's all to do with how big your pieces are, and how well your pan conducts heat. I used cast iron, and got beautifully browned potatoes all around. Do feel free to add a sliced onion right from the beginning, it'll caramelize and blacken a bit with your potatoes and be crispy and wonderful. Thanks, Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Super easy and super delicious. I used three cloves of garlic for half the recipe (3 cloves for 2 potatoes), and it came out garlicky enough for me! A great addition to brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe as written with one exception ~ used a bit of minced onion I had on-hand, instead of chives (because I forgot to buy some). I cooked it in a large cast iron skillet, and it turned out PERFECT!!! Crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Very good, and easy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good! These really paired well with a chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've made these a few times, but made a couple changes each time. The first time I made them, the only thing different was to use more garlic and cut the potatoes into small cubes so they cook faster. Came out great, but I actually prefer to use olive oil (and maybe just a pat of butter), double the garlic and also add some dried thyme. Very simple but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These had pretty good flavor. I made some changes to the heat though. I basically followed the recipe except at the end, I did not cook them on high heat for 10 minutes. If I would have done that, they would have been completely scorched. So, I cooked them on medium low for 10 minutes instead. I really enjoyed the favor though. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Teese are great fries! Easy to prepare, turned out just as expected. A good non stick pan makes indeed the difference. Great side dish, I will do them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe as written but would season it a little more next time but I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
quite good. made some changes: parboiled the potatoes, replaced the black pepper with cyene pepper n placed them under the grill. will make again. thnks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States