Steve's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
A little on the bland side, even with the fresh herbs, I had to add more dried to enhance the flavor. An old secret to adding an "earthier" flavor to chicken soup is to stir in about 2 tablespoons of beef bouillon granules. I also added a tablespoon of poultry seasoning.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I halved the recipe but tripled the chicken broth. The egg noodles called for in this recipe is too much, so I had to add more broth. This needs a lot of seasoning because it doesn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I LOVE this soup! I just read it about half an hour ago and it's just about ready, but I have already tasted it and can't wait to eat a bowlful! I did not have the fresh herbs on hand so I used about 3/4 t of each, dried. So yummy! I've tried similar recipes before, but the difference is the herbs. Thank you, Steve!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
UPDATE: my bf's mom made this soup as a side dish to go with Easter dinner. She omtted the noodles and used dried herbs. The soup tasted much better than I remember (tasted like mine did after sitting for a day)! I made this soup for dinner. It was a cold, snowy Chicago night - and it hit the spot! I will only give this 4 stars though, b/c it was a bit bland.... The fresh herbs didn't add a stronger flavor as I thought they would (I thought fresh herbs intensified the longer they cooked and dried lost their potency???). Fresh herbs are VERY expensive, but b/c chicken noodle is my FAVORITE soup, I went all out and bought everything fresh. I could have used dried herbs (which I had on hand) and the broth would have tasted about the same... maybe not (I'll have to try with dried next time in order to make the distinction). To shorten prep time, I cubed a purchased lemon garlic rotisserie chicken (breast meat only). I added the chicken and noodles in the last step and simmered for about 10-12 minutes until the noodles were done. I think I used a little less than half the bag of noodles (I halved the recipe) and the ratio was perfect. In my opinion, this soup tastes even better the next day after the herbs have had a chance to penetrate the broth (and my egg noodles didn't swell like most reviewers warned!). Thanks for a great, simple recipe that I can add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
A perfect and traditional-tasting Chicken Noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
My daughter has a nasty cold, and I made this soup last night for her. It is delicious! Since she doesn't like carrots, I substituted peas,[her favorite], and green beans. I think the secret to the great taste is in cooking onions, etc. in oil first. We love this soup! Thanks Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
you should add less noodles to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This recipe is easy and delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I made this when I was totally sick. Not only was it very easy to prepare, but it was SOOO yummy. Through my stuffy nose, I could still smell the goodness. I didn't change anything about this recipe. I cut up a rotisserie chicken and added more carrots. Wonderful soup that I will definetly make again. Thank you Steve!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I loved this recipe it was the perfect blend of herbs. I suggest adding a few more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States