Steve's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This soup is great! I really enjoyed the tarragon flavor in it. I used left over chicken meat from a roasted chicken, and half of the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Easy to make, taste amazing. Has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melfoisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Loved this in our house! Cut back to 4 servings. Used fresh parsley and rosemary from the garden, and added a little fresh oregano and basil, since it was growing there, too. Used dried thyme and tarragon. Only had one can of broth, so I used plain water with several chicken bouillon cubes. Waited to put the noodles in until about 10 minutes before it was done so they wouldn't be soggy. It was really good and we will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe was great and very easy. I used one less carrot and an extra onion instead (my husband isn't a big fan of carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I picked this recipe because I thought the fresh herbs would give it extra flavor, but I didn't think it was anything special. I'd try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was a great soup! I did not add rosemary, and it is much better the next day after it sits. I made for a sick friend who enjoyed every slurp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
A little on the bland side, even with the fresh herbs, I had to add more dried to enhance the flavor. An old secret to adding an "earthier" flavor to chicken soup is to stir in about 2 tablespoons of beef bouillon granules. I also added a tablespoon of poultry seasoning.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
UPDATE: my bf's mom made this soup as a side dish to go with Easter dinner. She omtted the noodles and used dried herbs. The soup tasted much better than I remember (tasted like mine did after sitting for a day)! I made this soup for dinner. It was a cold, snowy Chicago night - and it hit the spot! I will only give this 4 stars though, b/c it was a bit bland.... The fresh herbs didn't add a stronger flavor as I thought they would (I thought fresh herbs intensified the longer they cooked and dried lost their potency???). Fresh herbs are VERY expensive, but b/c chicken noodle is my FAVORITE soup, I went all out and bought everything fresh. I could have used dried herbs (which I had on hand) and the broth would have tasted about the same... maybe not (I'll have to try with dried next time in order to make the distinction). To shorten prep time, I cubed a purchased lemon garlic rotisserie chicken (breast meat only). I added the chicken and noodles in the last step and simmered for about 10-12 minutes until the noodles were done. I think I used a little less than half the bag of noodles (I halved the recipe) and the ratio was perfect. In my opinion, this soup tastes even better the next day after the herbs have had a chance to penetrate the broth (and my egg noodles didn't swell like most reviewers warned!). Thanks for a great, simple recipe that I can add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Simple and easy for a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
My daughter has a nasty cold, and I made this soup last night for her. It is delicious! Since she doesn't like carrots, I substituted peas,[her favorite], and green beans. I think the secret to the great taste is in cooking onions, etc. in oil first. We love this soup! Thanks Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States