Steve's Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Fantastic! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe--the flavor is amazingly complex for such a quick and easy dish. It tastes like something you would spend hours making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was fantastic! I added some chopped eggplant and zucchini, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I just made this for an Indian pot-luck dinner party. The only addition I made was a 1/2 tsp. of salt, but otherwise made it exactly as shown. I served it over basmati rice. Turned out great, everyone loved it, and it made great leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This turned out perfect and tasted delicious. I used fresh ginger and put it in with the garlic and onion. I also salted it little to bring out of the flavor. My roommate doesn't like the texture of onions or tomatoes, so I also took out as much of the tomatoes, onions and liquid as I could and blended it then added it back to the pan with the chicken.It made a smoother sauce and I almost like it better than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good dish. My only modification was to add more ground almonds. Also, if you like spicy dishes, I'd throw in a few chili pepppers as the dish was not spicy in any way. Definitely a keeper! And, extremely quick to make. Thanks, Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was so good! I added some sliced zuchhini and squash to up the veggie factor, but all else according to recipe. The flavors were so subtle, perfectly blended. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was an absolutely delicious, easy, and affordable dish to make. I read the reviews prior to making this meal, and changed the following: I switched the turmeric for cumin (partially because turmeric alone has too much of an earthy smell), added 1/2 tsp. of salt along with 2 tbsp of cornstarch (to thicken the sauce), and substituted between 1/4-1/2 cup of regular whipping cream for the heavy. I also added curry powder, but I don't know how much; I basically layered the area of the pan with a sprinkling and mixed it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .¤neb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was excellent. I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream, adding flavor and saving some calories. I prefer a thicker sauce, so I thickened it with corn starch. Next time, I'll omit the ground almonds because I don't think they added anything to the final result. I forgot to buy Basmati rice and had to use converted white rice; just not as good. Next time, I'll bump the seasoning up a little. My wife's first experience with Indian food was just recently having Chicken Korma in a restaurant. She loved it, and proclaimed this a "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This dish was absolutely delicious! However, I did a LOT of improvisation to get the flavor and consistency that I wanted. I took other reviewers suggestions on using coconut milk, and doubled the helping. Actually, I doubled just about all the spices, as well as the yogurt. I probably tripled the chili, but I still didn't obtain the heat I wanted. On my next batch, I'm thinking of slowly mixing in some spicy green chiles to add that extra kick and give a little color. My only warning for this recipe is to be careful with adding extra cinnamon! It tastes great with spicy foods, but if you aren't careful it can dominate the dish. Southwestern cooking often utilizes this same trick, and I've ruined a dish before by adding too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have any turmeric so I had to leave it out. Instead of tomatoes, I used the Safeway Italian Diced tomatoes which gave it a nice flavor. Also, for the heavy cream I substituted sour cream. Left out almonds and yogure and still had a wonderful taste. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States