Steve's Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was an absolutely delicious, easy, and affordable dish to make. I read the reviews prior to making this meal, and changed the following: I switched the turmeric for cumin (partially because turmeric alone has too much of an earthy smell), added 1/2 tsp. of salt along with 2 tbsp of cornstarch (to thicken the sauce), and substituted between 1/4-1/2 cup of regular whipping cream for the heavy. I also added curry powder, but I don't know how much; I basically layered the area of the pan with a sprinkling and mixed it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .¤neb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is my second time making this dish and with my modifications, it is absolutely delicious! I used bone-in, skin-on chicken legs separated at the joint, and removed excess fat. I doubled the recipe, but maybe tripled the spices, this is a must! I also added coconut milk and creamed coconut, because korma is supposed to have coconut something in it! This may seem like alot of coconut flavour, but they're both necessary to make this dish very creamy. I added cumin to take away the overwhelming coconut taste. I also add spinach. It's way creamier than the base recipe, and I love the way it tastes, my way. Thanks for the base recipe, Steve! I never buy the jarred korma anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Great Recipe! I punched it up by adding curry powder. I also doubled all the ingredients to make more sauce. It turned out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SigmaX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
It was easy to make and it had good flavor and nice consistency but it could have been spicier. I didn't have cinnamon. I added by accident some smoked paprika - didn't hurt it. I doubled the sauce so I would have more for the rice and added a touch of cornstarch. Next time I will not add as much cream so it has more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Pretty darn good. I will definitely make more. I followed the recipe pretty close. I used yogurt instead of cream and added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was excellent. I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream, adding flavor and saving some calories. I prefer a thicker sauce, so I thickened it with corn starch. Next time, I'll omit the ground almonds because I don't think they added anything to the final result. I forgot to buy Basmati rice and had to use converted white rice; just not as good. Next time, I'll bump the seasoning up a little. My wife's first experience with Indian food was just recently having Chicken Korma in a restaurant. She loved it, and proclaimed this a "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Quite delicious with a few changes... For more flavor, I bumped up all the spices to 1 teaspoon, added lots of curry powder, and, as suggested by others, used 2 cloves of garlic. To be even healthier and for convenience, I avoided the heavy cream (plus didn't have it on hand anyway) and added some flour to thicken. Fresh tomatoes and slivered almonds are the way to go for the perfect texture and taste. To add to this, I also added about 15 oz of garbanzo beans or chickpeas . Great, I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
It isn't a pretty dish, but this stuff smells and tastes amazing. It has good flavor without being spicy. I made it once with canned tomatoes and once with fresh. Both were good but I definitely prefer fresh, and I added an extra 1/2 cup tomato both times. The only other change was that I used partialy crushed slivered almonds rather than ground, because I thought it helped the texture. The leftovers are great in a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was a good recipe, but definitely missing a very important ingredient...creamed coconut or coconut milk!!! I made it the first time without it and knew that it didn't taste quite right. Then, I added the creamed coconut and it made all the difference. Also, if you don't think it is spicy enough, all you have to do is add more chili powder and that will do the trick...trust me, mine was flaming! This recipe is quick, simple and tasty as long as you add the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Sorry, I did not like this at all. It looked good and smelled good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish you won't want to miss.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States