Steve's Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was a good recipe, but definitely missing a very important ingredient...creamed coconut or coconut milk!!! I made it the first time without it and knew that it didn't taste quite right. Then, I added the creamed coconut and it made all the difference. Also, if you don't think it is spicy enough, all you have to do is add more chili powder and that will do the trick...trust me, mine was flaming! This recipe is quick, simple and tasty as long as you add the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is my second time making this dish and with my modifications, it is absolutely delicious! I used bone-in, skin-on chicken legs separated at the joint, and removed excess fat. I doubled the recipe, but maybe tripled the spices, this is a must! I also added coconut milk and creamed coconut, because korma is supposed to have coconut something in it! This may seem like alot of coconut flavour, but they're both necessary to make this dish very creamy. I added cumin to take away the overwhelming coconut taste. I also add spinach. It's way creamier than the base recipe, and I love the way it tastes, my way. Thanks for the base recipe, Steve! I never buy the jarred korma anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was excellent. I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream, adding flavor and saving some calories. I prefer a thicker sauce, so I thickened it with corn starch. Next time, I'll omit the ground almonds because I don't think they added anything to the final result. I forgot to buy Basmati rice and had to use converted white rice; just not as good. Next time, I'll bump the seasoning up a little. My wife's first experience with Indian food was just recently having Chicken Korma in a restaurant. She loved it, and proclaimed this a "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I just made this for an Indian pot-luck dinner party. The only addition I made was a 1/2 tsp. of salt, but otherwise made it exactly as shown. I served it over basmati rice. Turned out great, everyone loved it, and it made great leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This isn't a bad recipe. I had to replace the yogurt and cream by coconut milk. Where this recipe loses points is with the tomatoes. Tomatoes have no business in a chicken korma. I made it without tomatoes and it was much better. I also tried throwing a couple of cardamon pods and it added so depth to the flavors. This recipe is a good base to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good dish. My only modification was to add more ground almonds. Also, if you like spicy dishes, I'd throw in a few chili pepppers as the dish was not spicy in any way. Definitely a keeper! And, extremely quick to make. Thanks, Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I cooked this per recipe directions except I eliminated the tomatoes as someone suggested and substituted coconut milk for the heavy cream and yogurt. Also instead of ground almonds, I used chopped. It's absolutely awesome! I paired it with rice pilau and mango chutney, and the marriage of the three is purely divine! A feast for the tongue and belly, an aroma parade and a taste carnival. The flavors are out of this world. This is my first time cooking and eating Indian curry and I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by succulentfare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. J. Gilmour
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My first attempt at making Indian food; served with cinnamon sprinkled white rice (that I had on hand). Used low fat yogurt and roasted almonds chopped in a mini food processor; also added one sliced zucchini as suggested to "up the veggie factor." Looked great, tasted interesting.. the cinnamon was quite noticeable, and it was not spicy at all despite the chili powder. I'm not sure if I liked it enough to make again, as my taste buds aren't used to eating much cinnamon for dinner. Thanks for the easy recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Great Recipe! I punched it up by adding curry powder. I also doubled all the ingredients to make more sauce. It turned out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SigmaX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Really enjoyed this as a healthier alternative to the kormas I've had in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDFIORO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States