Steve's Bourbon Buffalo Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This sauce was THE BEST! I didn't have any bourbon whiskey, so I used a vanilla extract/water substitution. I added a little extra honey and ketchup, and fell in love. It goes from being sweet and tangy, to smoky and spicy. Definitely one of the best sauces I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This recipe is amazing. For best results make sure to use bourbon since it is important for the flavor and let the sauce sit in the fridge for a day or so. Adding 1-2 tsp of Tabasco sauce will also add some more heat if you're looking for something more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made this sauce last night and i have to say it is one of the best i have ever tried You sir are a great cook and if you decide to sell this i would buy it every chance i got And also thank you for helping me with a base line for my own buffalo sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I was looking for a sauce a little different than the basic Buffalo Wing Sauce. So I thought I would try this one. Fired up my Big Green Egg and threw on 36 wings....tossed them in this sauce....and OH MY!! We have a winner! This sauce is excellent...starts sweet, hint of bourdon, and finishes spicy. Excellent flavor and will now become a main sauce I will use on my wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Made these as directed and my lips are still tingling. We love how you get a little sweet then wham spicy. Fried up a whole bag of wings and now they are all gone. No leftovers for tomorrow. Next time, I'm going to make 2 bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Love the recipe. Added about 4 tablesppons of sriracha sauce to the mix, and grilled shrimp with it. Excellent flavor, with the right amount of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Hey, I didn't have any vanilla extract so had to use "JACK" for the sauce and one for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made this sauce and put it over cubed cooked chicken. I thought it was a good sauce, but the bourbon was a little strong. I think next time I will double the sugar,ketchup,cayenne, and garlic powder. All in all I liked the sauce but would like better with a more diluted bourbon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I too made a vanilla extract/water substitution for the bourbon. Came out great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have to admit that I am surprised that there weren't more complaints about how strong the bourbon flavor was?! Personally, I found the flavor overwhelmed all else. Maybe I will have to try the vanilla next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States