Steve's Bourbon Buffalo Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This sauce was AMAZING! Never made home made wings before but loved these. They were a huge hit at our party and will definitely be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissyw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I used this sauce in a king of the wing cook off and I won 1st place and people's choice award
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly. I served my wings which had been marinated in a soy sauce mixture and baked in the oven with 3 sauces--Steve's, ranch, and blue cheese. Once we tasted Steve's the other two remained untouched. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I loved this sauce! I fried my chicken wings first, no breading just naked chicken wings in the deep fryer and I shook them In the sauce PERFECT! I will have to admit the bourbon is strong in this recipe after all I was eating bourbon chicken wings....Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyaknatasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This is a 5 star sauce with a modifcation. For the people who say it was too sweet and want more heat... I used "reduced sugar" ketchup, left out the 1/4 of brown sugar and just used the 1 Tablespoon of honey. Then used Tobasco Habenero sauce and doubled the cayenne. Less sweet with twice the heat. Perfect. (Optional.. take the pan and smoke the sauce with hickory wood in your grill or smoker.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I really had high hopes for this sauce. And it's not a bad sauce for what it is - Bourbon Sweet and Sour Sauce. But! I was really craving Buffalo Sauce, not Sweet and Sour. I should have considered all the ingredients first. This sauce is waaayy too sweet for me. Bourbon, Brown Sugar, Ketchup, and Honey.. All Sweet. All large amounts. For me, this sauce needs much more HEAT. I had to add much more hot sauce, cayenne and other peppers to try to combat the sugar content. And yes, as much as I love bourbon - I could use about a third less. Which equals more for me to drink later. It is not my intention to completely trash this recipe - but I just wish it hadn't gotten my hopes up for something that it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Totally loved this!!! Even made it twice in one week! Second time i did cut down on the sugar tho, and it still came out as perfect as ever. Followed the instructions to the last dot. No disappointment whatsoever. Friends absolutely loved it too! Thanks Steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this sauce as is the first time and it was good, but my husband thought the bourbon flavor was a bit strong. The second time I made it I substituted apple juice for 1/2 of the bourbon and added 1/2 tbsp of worchestershire and it was perfect. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made this recipe along a couple more and loved it! My acquaintances gobbled ALL the wings in a blink of an eye. Nothing left except the bones and some were even chewing on the bones too! I made these sauces the day before and the bourbon taste was greatly enhanced. Once mixed with the wings the taste was still predominant but suttle. This recipe is a keeper and will make them again and again but this time will wait after two days to see how it turns out. I'm sure it'll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Slow_Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I tried this for the first time tonight exactly as written. After simmering I dipped a spoon, turned and tasted...I literally spun around and stared at the pot. It was incredible!!! Had my buddy over for wings and he said they were the best wings he's ever eaten and I have to agree. The bourbon smell is heavy but blends perfectly for an initial taste of sweetness with a heat that creeps up but doesn't overpower. I do a lot of BBQ and can't wait to try this on my next rack of smoked ribs. Absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States