Steph's Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made these and they were easy and taste great! I but Captain Morgan rum instead of the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph T.
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I always use VO bourbon to make these. They taste best after a few days (if you can wait that long to partake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Hate to say it, but I did not care for these. Not sure if it was the recipe (which I followed exactly) or if I just don't care for this kind of thing. Judging by how many others loved them, its probably just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe's nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
these turned out a little dry, but they are fantastic!! I used brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I highly recommend this recipe. I tried another recipe for bourbon balls posted on this site, and they turned out more like chocolate coated, soggy sugar cookies. Steph's Bourbon Balls has a better consistency, is arguably less costly, and takes a fraction of the time to make compared to the other posted recipes. If Bourbon Balls are your thing, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Chocolatey and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I must have done something wrong. I had a lot of crumbs mixture that wouldn't stick together. Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is the only bourbon ball recipe I use, though with a few modifications. I use at least 1/3 cup bourbon instead of 1/4, sometimes 1/2 cup. I only use 1/2 cup pecans and slightly less than 2.5 cups wafer crumbs, otherwise it's too dry and not chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I made these for a gathering, but didn't have time to make them ahead. Even same-day, I got rave reviews! I did use more bourbon than the recipe originally called for, but the powdered sugar in the mixture really helps to keep them from tasting too "crumbly." Everyone absolutely LOVED them! Thanks Steph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States