Stephen's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
EXCELLENT! All my friends ask for this recipe. I make large batches, make the cookie balls, flash freeze them and store them in a zip loc bag to bake a few at a time at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
O.K.!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There are still more cookies left to bake but I couldn't wait to tell everyone how awesome these really are!!!!!!!! At first I thought they were so thick and cake-like but as they cooled they flatened down. Resulting in a perfect light & crispy cookie with a very moist and chewy inside.Absolutely awesome!! I will never use another recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
These cookies are packed with all of my favorite things - A big thank you to Wendy and her dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is just the sort of cookie I dislike so much; very similar to Nestle Toll House Cookies - flatter, sweeter and greasier than I prefer. Hubs will love 'em. As far as I'm concerned, however, these suffer from too much sugar, not enough flour, or both. A generous three stars for my rating, only because I know Hubs' rating would be higher than mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
If there was a definition of chocolate chip cookie in the dictionary, a picture of "Stephen's Chocolate Chip Cookies" would be beside it. My search for the perfect chocolate chip cookie began and ended with this recipe!!! These are ideal...slightly crispy around the edges and wonderfully chewy in the centre. I used cold butter when making these, and had no problems with them being too flat. A truly gourmet cookie is not "puffy" anyway. As for cookies sticking to the baking sheet, might I suggest parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Also do as indicated in the recipe and allow cookies to cool for the specified time on the baking sheet. One more thing, I found these were the best when cooked between 8-9 minutes. Wendy, these are restaurant quality cookies, and my family says a big THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
***UPDATE: I'd sort of forgotten about this recipe in my quest for trying out other choc chip cookie recipes, but I have to say, this one still heads my list. I think I'll stop the search. :-) Made them with semi-sweet chips (my fave!) and all three kinds of nuts. SO good and buttery-flavorful! They're not made with shortening (a plus; no transfats) & they hold up well after they've cooled down. Thanks again, Wendy! Jan 26, 2004: Of the chocolate chip cookie recipes I've tried so far on this website, this one is my fave. They have buttery-crisp edges, and that is the way I like them. I only used one kind of chip (milk chocolate for DSD's sake), and one kind of nut (pecans); but the cookie itself is of the texture that I like. They're addicting! Thanks, Wendy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This is the perfect cookie! Anyone who rated this less than a five must have done something wrong. I have tried cookie recipe after cookie recipe, and this one is by far the best. I don't understand how some have said that its too flat, it came out EXACTLY how a cookie is supposed to come out. If you want something fluffy, bake a cake. Your school has served you well, my friend, many many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is cookie perfection, in my opinion. The recipe is VERY beginner friendly (which is important for me and my limited skills!)The perfect balance of fluffy and chewy, and that sweet vanilla flavor that so many are apprehensive about? That's what I Love so much about these. They smell like a fudge shop on Mackinac Island on a cool Autumn afternoon. I read in another review to omit baking powder to make them less cakey-textured, so I did that. And I had to omit all nuts because I have a very picky fiance, but there will be time to add nuts as I will be making these for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curlycantcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
My husband's favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe is one that I have been making for years from King Arthur Flour (it is no longer on their website, or I would direct you there). Anyway, everytime I make a different chocolate chip cookie my husband will say "it's good, but it's not as good as my favorite". I made this recipe, using King Arthur organic whole wheat white flour, all three chips, and pecans only. "Oh, no, these are as good as my favorites and now I won't know which to ask for!" cried hubby. That makes these crispy cookies one darn good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
My husband's name is Stephen so I just had to bake these! We omitted all nuts and used only 1 cup of morsels. I used 1/2 cup of butter flavored shortening and 1/2 cup of butter brought to room temperature. As such, this recipe rated a 5. If we had made them according to recipe, more gourmet, I might have had to petition for 10 stars! These did spread out and become rather thin - which we like. They were crunchy onthe outside and chewy on the inside. They taste heavenly; somewhat similar taste to Toll House, that means comfort food to me! These were easy to make and smelled wonderfully baking, thanks Wendy for sharing with us. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States