Stephen's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This recipe is the best.. I have made it several times with half the amount of sugar and it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
YUM! I am so glad that I followed this recipe EXACTLY. I was tempted to change it due to some of the bad reviews. I don't see why people thought these were flat. Mine turned out just like a cookie should. Yes, they are sweet, but not overly so. I didn't pack my brown sugar, because the recipe didn't say to. I also stirred the flour into the butter / sugar mixture (this is how I read the recipe), rather than using mixer at this step. I don't know if mixing would have produced a flatter cookie?! Also, I put the dough in the fridge between cooking and cooked for 9 min. which seemed perfect. I also let them cool on cookie sheet about 9 min. before transfering to cooking rack. Lastly, I didn't soften butter as long as I usually do when a recipe calls for softened butter. Mine was pretty chilled. I just had to mix a little more to get it creamed with the sugar. SOOOOO.... I have no idea if any of this might have made the difference in the final result of the cookie, but this was a perfect chocolate chip cookie in my eyes (and in my tummy)! Like others, I usually am underwhelmed with chocolate chip cookie recipes, and keep trying to find one I like, THIS IS IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
So, if you're like me and have difficulty producing perfect chewy chocolate chip cookies, follow this recipe and struggle no more! They came out nice and golden, and chewy- not doughy. I don't like much choc. in mine, so I just threw in a handful of semi-sw. chips, and handful of walnuts. I also sub. 1/2 tsp of almond extract instead of vanilla. ( I do this with every recipe.) I did cook my cookies for 14 minutes, but when I dropped the dough they were roughly the size of golf balls, so maybe that's why it took longer. I like bigger cookies, especially when they come out like this!!!!! Thank you SO much for inventing such a masterpiece of a recipe. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I didn't pack the flour. The cookie was too flat. It needs to be cooled to get it off the pan without it breaking. More flour is needed. Start by making a couple of sample cookies. If it turns out too flat, then add more flour to get the consistency/texture you want. It calls for more choc. chips than I like, which also makes it more difficult to scrape off the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Sorry, but these didn't give me the soft, chewy cookie I was expecting. Also the flavor was off. Not enough vanilla, to my taste. More chocolate and flavoring would have made a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I liked these cookies and made them exactly as written. I think the batter could use a bit more flavor though...a dash of cinnamon maybe? Despite refrigerating the cookie dough, they still flattened out more than I wanted them to, therefore, I watched them carefully to avoid burning them. I would probably make them again with a few changes to "spice" them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is just the sort of cookie I dislike so much; very similar to Nestle Toll House Cookies - flatter, sweeter and greasier than I prefer. Hubs will love 'em. As far as I'm concerned, however, these suffer from too much sugar, not enough flour, or both. A generous three stars for my rating, only because I know Hubs' rating would be higher than mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These are pretty killer cookies. I used white chips, dark (60%) chips, macadamia and pecans. They are sweet, but people - they're cookies not bread. They're supposed to be sweet. It's a keeper, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Wonderful cookie. I had to add and extra 1/4 cup flour or so. I was able to 1st, double the recipe, then half the recipe easily..half with nuts and half without for those in our home with nut allergies. Tons of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My daughters made these cookies and they were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States