Stephan's Broiled Salmon Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've made this several times. I usually forget to add anything other than the pesto and its always delicious. I use Wild-Caught store brand salmon and a little jar of basil pesto called Mezzetta-Napa Valley Bistro. It's the bizzness! I make it with brown rice and broccoli. My Pesto never comes out crispy but there is always a lot of liquid in the pan even though I thaw my fish completely. ^_^ definitely a staple in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe. If the salmon isn't finished cooking and pesto has browned sufficiently, I stop broiling and set oven to 350 degrees. I bake the salmon until it is opaque and flakes easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luanne A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Big hit! Thank you Stephan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Everyone loved this fish and the flavor. The only complaint was from my husband, who didn't like the skin on the bottom. I did have to move the oven rack up a little closer to the heat source to cook the pesto a little more. The only change I made to the recipe was to add salt to the fish before adding the pesto, and sprinkling a little Parmesan cheese on top in the last few minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abuhler
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Wonderful flavor! I made this for my husband and myself and we both loved it! I used steelhead trout instead of salmon. Also, I recommend cooking just a little longer... I had formed the brown crust, took it out and got it on the table, we cut into it and it was still raw in the middle and I had to put it back in the broiler for a few more mins. Make sure you anticipate for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Maybe just a little too pesto-ee for us, but everyone liked it and we are always looking for new salmon ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I was a bit doubtful about this recipe, as I love salmon so much that I tend to like it "plain" or with very little seasonings, however the pesto stands right up to the salmon without overwhelming the flavor. My pesto crust didn't quite brown - I should have broiled it more like six inches from the broiler (at 425F) rather than the nine. But still, this was absolutely delicious - a definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Very simple to make. I roasted at 425 for 7 minutes and then broiled for 7 minutes. It wasn't crispy but it wasn't soupy either. Next time I will move the pan closer to the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I thought this was really yummy, but it really was like pesto on top of salmon, the salmon itself didn't grab much of the flavoring from the pesto. I still liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
It can't get any simpler than this and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetadharmony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Broiled Salmon

See how to make delicious salmon broiled with a butter and herb sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States