Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is very good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Probably the best recipe ever for spaghetti sauce!. Had a bumper crop of tomatoes last summer so my freezer is loaded with this fabulous meal. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I suggest using shredded carrots, (2 or three of them), to replace the sugar. I have also added mushrooms (a pound of sliced white mushrooms is nice for most people, but I would put in 3-4 if I could being a BIG mushroom lover) and 2-3 diced zucchini. This adds more veggies to the sauce and makes moms happier when their kids eat veggies. Who's gonna tell the kids right? I also cook this in a big pot on the stove, putting the tomato paste in at the beginning. My sister bakes hers in the oven. This is an all day thing, cutting veggies at 6 to get the sauce on the stove at 8am in time for dinner at 6 pm. The house smells great, and the sauce freezes well in single portions, (1 cup), or multiple portions 4 or more depending on who is at the table and portion size. Can throw meat in or veggie ground round, and adjust for spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Turned out really well! I will make again. I'll probably cut back the sugar a bit because we felt it was a touch sweet, but that may be personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I actually made this to have tonight, not necessarily freeze, although I love that idea! It was wonderful, perfectly flavorful. My whole house smelled amazing. I used canned tomatoes rather than fresh and closer to a whole green pepper. Due to time, I just did it all in a pan on the stovetop for about an hour. I'm excited to have leftovers, as I'm sure it will taste even better tomorrow! What a simple, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is simply fabulous as is! This is the second year I have made it using the end of the year tomatoes from my garden. One slight variance - I use fresh herbs that I also grow. They make for a very fresh tasting sauce, especially in the middle of winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Made this sauce as written . Used half without adding the tomato paste over pasta with crumbled bacon and a little Parmesan on top. Excellent. Froze the other half and will add the paste to it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!! I just tasted this as I'm waiting for it to cook down and it is amazing! I am cooking mine in a stockpot on the stove. I also blanched and peeled the tomatoes as well as added a bit of red bell pepper that I wanted to use up. I only put 1 tbls. of the basil in because of personal preference. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This sauce is fab-u-licious!! I had a boat load of tomatoes from the garden soI made this recipe many times over. It is so versatile I used it in everthing that called for re sauce; lasagna, shells spaghetti, etc. It went well with every dish. I also froze a lot for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made this recipe but added 1 lb. of ground beef to the batch. OH MY! This is officially my new favorite spaghetti sauce as well as my husband's. It is a great solution for the abundance of tomatoes we had from the garden this year! It is so much better than any sauce you will buy in a can or jar... and it's very easy to make. It takes some time, but it's totally worth it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States