Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Love it. Great for summer when we have tons of tomatoes in the garden. Made tons! Haven't bought a jar since. Just wondered why chop the tomatoes? It's a waste of time. They fall apart on their own when you cook them. It looks more like a regular spagetti sauce when the tomatoes are not diced before cooking... And more like a salsa when you do. I also blanched them first to get the skins off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious. I peeled my tomatoes (boil/ice bath method) and chopped them - about 9 cups worth. My edits: I used olive oil, and not quite as much as called for, I used fresh basil, and I put 12oz of tomato paste in while the sauce was cooking. I also did it in a dutch oven on the stove, as opposed to a slow cooker. I simmered for a couple of hours and we ate some with pasta for dinner - amazing! I can't tell you what it'll taste like after freezing, but it was the best pasta sauce I've had (meatless). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Tried it. Loved it. My teenage son agrees. I don't like canning, so it's a perfect alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is yummy. I made it and froze several servings for later. Taste just as good as fresh made. My family really likes it, I added zucchini and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Conway, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This turned out great although I would use less salt next time. I added roasted red peppers, and I roasted a bulb of garlic instead of the chopped garlic. I also used mainly red onions instead of white. I cooked it on low in an open pot for several hours and it thickened up really well. Then I pureed it with my immersion blender. Will definitely make it again but will use less salt next time. no need for tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Just made it last night and the flavor is phenomenal. It's very easy to make especially with the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
We love it out and it is very easy. I made it last year and my raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I make this with tomatoes for my garden every year. my husband loves it and only let's me use it (from the freezer) on special occasions. I add the tomato paste at the same time as everything else. And sometimes I add some nice red wine...yummmm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made this last year and simply LOVED it. I need to reduce salt for my husband, so did not put any salt in and made sure the tomato paste had 20 mg sodium (verses 310 mg!) So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I only added about 1/4 tsp salt, and it tasted just fine. I also cut the sugar back by 1/2. You can always add a bit more salt or sugar at the end. Otherwise, with my modifications, it was a good recipe and helped my to use my abundance of garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States