Stef's Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Hi all! This is a SUPER idea! EXCELLENT recipe. Instead of making the "chocolate cake mix" I actually had a Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Devils food cake mix that I had to use up so I used that but cut the water down to 1 Cup rather than the 1 1/3 it calls for. Mixture was thick enough to make really nice tablespoon "plops". Thank you, Stef, for such a quick and fun recipe! Just need to add a bit of info --- I made these for our Church potluck farewall luncheon for our Athletes in Action Baseball team. They were a HUGE hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Fabulous whoopie pies. After reading the reviews, and noting that several people had mentioned the dryness of the cakes and the sweetness of the icing, I tried the following: 1 cup of powdered sugar instead of 1 3/4 cooking the cakes the minimum time listed The cakes were moist and delicious. The icing was peanut buttery goodness and not too sweet Yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I love this whoopie pie recipe because it does not have shortening as a main ingredient for the filling, and therefore a much more tasty and more nutritous treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
As a child I enjoyed whoopie pies, but this recipe is "top shelf". They didn't last long once they were out of the oven. A big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the first negative review I have written on the site: These turned out flatter than pancakes and by using a teaspoon to measure, I got 45 very small cookies. I didn't have an issue w/ dryness. I changed the second batch before it went it and this seemed to help, so this is what I would suggest: add 1 tsp. baking powder as well to the batter, add about 1/4 c. extra cocoa powder for a more chocolately taste and bake for only 6 minutes. Measure with a larger spoon, too. Hope this helps some of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cezeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Lima, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These were awesome, the only thing I changed was I added another 1/4 cup of peanut butter to the filling to have more of peanut butter flavor. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
very easy recipe to follow, cookie WAY WAY, TOO DRY!!, the filling was a good starting poit, however I like a bit more peanut butter taste I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hermon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made these for a birthday party & must say they were better than the bakery birthday cake! I baked the cookies for 10 minutes to keep them from drying out & then added 1/4 cup more peanut butter to the filling to give it a bit more flavor. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Stef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIL1952

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I was not happy with these. The cakes were too dry, and they did not spread out as they baked; they stayed small and stiff. The taste was mediocre. The frosting was a disaster; I have no idea why it calls for 1/2 a cup of milk when you could never need that much. I only used about 1/4 cup and it was waaaaaaay too much; I had to add another 2-3 cups of sugar to make it thicker, and it was still runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Excellent. I did not change anything about the recipe. These taste a lot like those new Oreo cakesters, just less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States