Stef's Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
They were tasty and I enjoyed them. However, I found that dropping them by the teaspoon-ful made cookies that were a bit small. And they didn't flatten down like whoopie pies are supposed to as they baked. They just baked in a big clump, so even though they still tasted good, they were a bit awkward for eating. Maybe I did something wrong with the recipe. For the second batch I made them bigger and flattened them with a spoon before baking and they turned out great. Yummy overall though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
You don't even need close to 1/2C milk or the frosting gets too runny. And it mostly tastes like sugar, not peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These Whoopie Pies are AMAZING!!!!!! Others have been commenting on how dry it was. Sure, it was maybe a little dry, but if you don't eat it plainly, you wont even notice. The whoopie pies come off the baking sheet just like that. At first when i was putting the mixture onto the baking sheet, i was worried that it wouldn't come off. but to my relief it came of as if though it were fake. i have made these many times, each time making it differently, and everyone loved them each time. thank you so much for this recipe. if i could, i would definitely rate more stars for this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made these for a birthday party & must say they were better than the bakery birthday cake! I baked the cookies for 10 minutes to keep them from drying out & then added 1/4 cup more peanut butter to the filling to give it a bit more flavor. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Stef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIL1952

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I really really liked the icing ;) but the cakes were almost as flat as the sheet!!! they looked like chocolate potato chips! the taste was pretty good but the appearence was unbearable. it may have just been my lack of skills, being my first time making these, but i give it a 4 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the first negative review I have written on the site: These turned out flatter than pancakes and by using a teaspoon to measure, I got 45 very small cookies. I didn't have an issue w/ dryness. I changed the second batch before it went it and this seemed to help, so this is what I would suggest: add 1 tsp. baking powder as well to the batter, add about 1/4 c. extra cocoa powder for a more chocolately taste and bake for only 6 minutes. Measure with a larger spoon, too. Hope this helps some of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cezeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Lima, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I was not happy with these. The cakes were too dry, and they did not spread out as they baked; they stayed small and stiff. The taste was mediocre. The frosting was a disaster; I have no idea why it calls for 1/2 a cup of milk when you could never need that much. I only used about 1/4 cup and it was waaaaaaay too much; I had to add another 2-3 cups of sugar to make it thicker, and it was still runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These were awesome, the only thing I changed was I added another 1/4 cup of peanut butter to the filling to have more of peanut butter flavor. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Fabulous whoopie pies. After reading the reviews, and noting that several people had mentioned the dryness of the cakes and the sweetness of the icing, I tried the following: 1 cup of powdered sugar instead of 1 3/4 cooking the cakes the minimum time listed The cakes were moist and delicious. The icing was peanut buttery goodness and not too sweet Yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corndogmcp
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Because so many other reviewers said that the cookie portion of this recipe was waaaay too dry, I opted to make the cookie from "Whoopie Pies III" from this site. I used those cookies and the filling from this recipe, so this review is only for the filling. The taste and texture were good, but it was entirely too sweet for me. I could hardly eat one it was too much. The recipe is aptly named with "frosting" in the title because that is exactly what it is. If I decide to make whoopie pies again, I'd probably fill them with some sort of whipped cream-based filling. I'd be curious to try a peanut butter flavored whipped cream instead of this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States