Steff's Shepherd Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I only rated this four stars because of the changes i made. First off i seasoned the mixture with garlic powder and johnny's seasoning salt, and insted of using a whole can of cream of mushroom soup i only used half and threw in about half a cup of sour cream. Also used a bag of mixed veggies. (didnt have any green beans.)It was very good after that. My boyfriend really liked it, its also a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Ash*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I didn't use cream of mushroom soup, and used ground turkey rather than beef. Also used onion powder (along with garlic and pepper) to season the meat. I flavored my mashed potatoes with hot curry powder-- YUM, that added a wonderful taste (and smell!) To moisten the mashed potatoes, I made them with the appropriate amount of water and milk, then added about 1/2 C chicken broth. This counteracts the need for any creamed-soup (+ makes it dairy free and cuts the calories.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I've never made shepard's pie - so I was surprised when my husband came home and knew exactly what it was. I couldn't stop nibbling at it. I did a few different things.. not major... but I cooked the onion and added garlic with the ground beef. I added a little bit of seasoning...salt, pepper, a bit of this and that. In my mashed potatoes I mixed half of the cheese in them and added sour cream. I had almost 4 cups of mashed potatoes after the fact, so I threw it all on top of the complete meat mixture .... My husband had his working partner with him when he came home and asked him if he wanted "Shepard's pie." They finished almost half of the whole dinner. My 2 year old loved it... but my 3 1/2 yr old...who has gotten soo picky... didn't even try it because he didn't like the way it looked. Oh well...his loss... This seemed to be great comfort food from childhood for my husband. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jay
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was a great recipe, easy to make and easy to prepare. It was surprisingly tasty although a bit on the bland side which is part of the reason I rated it a 4. You may want to spice it up a bit. The other is the 'mashed potatoes is a bit vague; there are many possibilities for mashed potatoes. In my case I sued boiled three mid sized russet potatoes in a large saucepan with 1/2 tsp salt for 20 minutes (until tender), then blended with 4 tbsp half and half and 2 tbsp butter. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Easy Easy Easy! This was an excellent recipe. I made it just as written; however, I did put a little garlic powder in the potatos. The next time I make it I will make about 3 to 4 cups of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I make a variation of this using low sodium soup and half a packet of onion soup mix. I use whatever veggies I have on hand. Sometime I add cheese, sometime not. As is, the recipe needs a little seasoning, but it's a good base for a hearty meal/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I never had shepherds pie with green beans before, always mixed veggies or peas and carrots, but I really liked this. The only thing I did different was saute the onions with the beef, and add extra cheddar to the potatoes. My husband did ask if I'd be insulted if he reached for the hot sauce, but I wasn't because he puts hot sauce on everything anyway! I'll definately make this again, for the simplicity of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I had no problems with this meal! Quick and easy-AND delicious. My Dad used to use tomato soup instead of mushroom, next time, I will substitute and see if it turns out as good as his. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I wasn't sure if I'd like this but it turned out great and was very easy/inexpensive to make. I used 2 packages of Idahoan instant potatoes in lieu of real ones. Also, the leftovers heated up in the microwave the next day still tasted good. My boyfriend has asked me to definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this last night for dinner. I did not use canned green beans, I used frozen. I sauteed the onion with some fresh chopped baby bella mushrooms before adding in the green beans, soup, some fresh ground pepper and about a half cup of milk to thin out the soup just a bit. The mashed potatoes were homemade. My youngest did not like this but both my oldest and I did. Next time, I might try this with fresh vegetables, a homemade mushroom soup base and a cauliflower mash, just to make it a little healthier. I think this would be good with a brown gravy, too (think salisbury steak-ish). GREAT base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States