Steff's Shepherd Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
5 stars for ease and speed of preparation, but 4 stars for the flavor. Didn't have green beans, so substituted chopped frozen broccoli. Also added some garlic powder, oregano, and parsley for a bit of seasoning, and sauteed the onions as well. My wife and I were pleased with the result. Satisfying fare for every day dinners, but not necessarily a dish I would whip up if I were trying to impress anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was good. The reason for 3 stars is I think it actually needed just a little bit of seasoning. I followed the recipe exactly as given. Next time, I think I will cut down on the onion, add in some ground pepper and a little garlic salt, plus a little more cheese. And on a side note, this is really a cottage pie since it uses ground beef instead of ground lamb. I recommend the recipe, it's really good ... thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araynady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is tasty and fairly easy to make. I find that it is even better if put in a pie crust. Although the potatoes are supposed to form some sort of crust, I noticed that the potatoes were not getting crispy enough and that it was easier to just put it inside an actual crust. Also, I used corn instead of greenbeans. I added some minced garlic (one to two cloves) in with the onion and sauteed in olive oil before adding to the mixture. This added a good flavor. Also added some sour cream and garlic powder as others suggested and this also added more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emu123

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was a yummy choice of the many shepherd pie options out there. The addition of the cream of mushroom soup made me think of green bean casserole. Once I made that connection, I think the addition of the french fried onions would make this an even more standout of a recipe. Try this version and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was a very easy and quick recipe. There wasn't alot of seasoning in it so the next time I make this I will be adding some herbs to kick it up a notch and maybe some worcestershire sauce or something. Just so it's not so bland. But all in all this is a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is delicious. I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef, but otherwise made the recipe just as written. This one is definitely going into the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
The mushroom soup was an amazing addition. I also added some frozen veggies cause that's not I like it but I could definitely recommend trying this version od sheperds pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I doubled the recipe (only because I have 8 people to feed) and I used 1 lb of ground beef and 1 pound of italian sausage....turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Delicious! I threw in a pkt of dried onion soup mix and added more potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Added garlic, onions, corn, peas and made garlic pot. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States