Steff's Shepherd Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
In my version of Shepard pie i use a bag of frozen corn and 2 bags of the frozen steam and mash potatoes. What i do is first ground the hamburger and add the seasoning and put it in the bottom of the pan, i then add the frozen corn and 12 ounces of finely shredded fiesta blend cheese, then i top it with the mash potatoes and bake for about 30 mins on 350. Seems like i never have enough, and its real simple to make. My family loves shepherds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
It's delicious! But you absolutely must put some herbs and/or spices in the meat or it will be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Okay...first off I did not cook this recipe as is. I used it more as a guide to go by because I have a tendency to tweak almost everything that I cook. I cooked the ground beef per the directions but instead of chopped onion I just used onion powder (either one works-depends on preference) as well as salt and pepper to taste. Once I drained the ground beef I added one can of french styled green beans, one can of corn, one can of cream of celery soup, one can of cream of mushroom soup, and one (small-approx. 4 oz. jar) of sliced mushrooms. I heated it through and placed it in casserole dish (9x12). I used instant potatoes and mixed those per the box directions. Be warned, make plenty of potatoes (8+ servings worth for the 9x12 casserole dish). I layered the ground beef then the potatoes into the casserole dish and cooked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I omitted the cheese entirely. It turned out awesome! My fiance said it reminded him of the KFC bowl but was even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Very tasty and easy recipe! I made it for an office party and it rdisappeared first. Will absolutely make again for us for dinner! Made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Great and easy! My husband hated shepherd s pie and I didn't make it for several years. I saw this and decided to give it a go. When he heard what was for supper he was disappointed but when he ate it he even commented it was so good! He even asked for the leftovers the next day. Thanks for sharing! I did use fresh mushrooms mixed in with the beef and mushrooms and frozen corn in place of the green beans. The cheese was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Ok I know people say you cant rate when you change ingreds etc but when I rate it I do change but I go by the orginal recipe for rating.Like I added spices to the meat and a little bit of the potato to it.Then I put potato on bottom of dish,then the meat and then the last bit of potato.Then I add more cheese on top and French Fried Onions.But since it was good that would mean to me the the original would be good as well.That is how I rate recipes and I like reading other reviews for ideas to add to recipe.Nothing is wrong with rating the recipe and adding whatever else you want to put in it.This is a keeper and I love having the mushroom soup and the green beans added to the meat.so yummy.plus having the cheese and fried onions for topping makes it more tasty.Will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is amazing! My kids raved and had seconds and thirds! I made it exactly as written except cooked the onions with the beef. Incredible that such simplicity could be so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Making this for the second time tonight. Very simple and it tastes great. I seasoned my beef and made the mashed potatoes "garlic" with garlic powder. Such an easy dish when you need to throw dinner together in a hurry. Everything this dish needs are things I always keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Yummy. I used frozen corn and instead of ground beef I used Johnsonville® Italian Mild Sausage Links. It was a great addition and added a little more flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was so easy to make and even my very picky 5 year old LOVED it!!!! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States