Steff's Shepherd Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. However, the meat needs a little seasoning. I personally recommend the seasoning blend from Papadooka's homeade beef sausage (It's on this site). It's perfect with this if you omit the brown sugar and salt, I even used vegan beef substitute and my family loves the stuff. I also changed out the green beans for corn instead. The texture was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
this recipe is simple and basic. I added some of my own favorite spices as everyone's tastes are different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was very good! A nice, filling comfort food on a cold January night! I substituted cream of onion soup for the cream of mushroom due to personal preference. Also substituted a half bag of frozen mixed veggies (probably could've used more) for the can of green beans. I will make this again with the same substitutions. I did not think this lacked flavor at all. Maybe the cream of onion soup helped to add some flavor??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is a great use for left-over mashed potatoes and is a great comfort food. We usually have one on hand in the freezer. Thank you for a simple, pleasing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
We thought this recipe was decent, as-is. I should've read the reviews before I made it - it could definitely use some more flavor. I would use mixed veggies next time, and add some more seasoning as well - maybe some garlic powder, seasoned salt, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Like most cooks, I tweaked the recipe a little here and there to suit my tastes, but the recipe is well portioned and easy to follow. My very fussy children even asked for seconds! I made it ahead and then used the program feature on my oven to heat it thru while we were at ice skating practice--coming home to this piping hot is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very easy recipe.I rated it a 4 because I too made changes. I used what I had in my house. That included ground turkey, a can of mixed veggies, I didn't have cream of mushroom so I used cream of celery. It seemed to give it more flavor. Also, I used fresh garlic, onions, adobe seasoning and Colby chesse. It was a hit in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I did this the easy way, using pre-seasoned ground beef, canned green beans, shredded carrots, fresh peas and mushrooms. I also used cream of garlic mushroom soup and packaged mashed potatoes. Topped it with chopped fresh chives and cheddar cheese(last 5 minutes. Because I took some shortcuts, it only needed to cook 20 minutes rather then 30 as mentioned in this version, and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was great! I used homemade mashed potatoes made with cream cheese and a little garlic. I accidentally forgot to add the onion, so I sprinkled some french-fried onions on top during the last 5 minutes of cooking and it turned out wonderful. The whole family loved it & I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent my husband says you can make this again ...which is good compliment Thanks for sharing and for the other reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States