Steel-Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made this without the nuts (can't have them) and part of them milk was substitute with greek yogurt. At the end it seemed really thick so I added a splash of orange juice and instead of the sugar I drizzled it with a small amount of honey. YUM! Glad that there are leftovers for breakfast tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gardeski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Wow, I loved this recipe. I use rice milk in place of dairy. And I didn't have any cranberries. It was delicious. I do love the texture of steel cut oatmeal, and adding cashews and coconut added a lot of texture and taste. Perfection! I made a full batch and took another reviewer's suggestion to freeze portions in cupcake holders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Love this recipe. Great base to sub in any fruit and nuts on hand. Today I chopped up an apple and threw it in at the 10-minutes left mark. I have made this with pears, dried cherries and pepitas as well. I go for a dollop of brown sugar at the end. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Soooo good. I'm officially converted to steel-cut oats! Keeps me full for longer than any other kind of breakfast. I used chopped walnuts, coconut, and raisins, with a bit of brown sugar. Even my 2 year old ate the whole bowl and asked for more! This keeps for a long time in the fridge too, so you can make a big pot and just re-heat small portions all week for a fast breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was delicious. I also added dried apricots and blueberries and fresh strawberries. Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Yummy! I used walnuts with dried apricots and figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this for a teacher's breakfast at my children's school. It was a huge hit! So many asked for the recipe and gave me compliments. Thank you for posting this recipe! My changes: I under cooked the oats as I needed to transport this in a crock pot and keep it on low at the breakfast. Also I kept out the coconut, cashews, cranberries and sugar. I used those as toppings so the teacher's could individualize their own oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I like to sweeten the oatmeal at the end with a little maple syrup. A trick to cut down the cook time is to boil the water and pour it over the oat grout the evening prior. Let it set covered overnight and it should only take 10-15 minutes max to cook in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Sooooo goood! I like to keep the calorie count as low as possible so I eliminate cooking with milk but when serving I add a little Sugar Free Hazelnut coffee creamer. I like to alternate with different nuts, walnuts being my favorite, but pecans are also great... and same with fruit. It's delicious with fresh blueberries, peaches, apples and cinnamon or raisins, cranberries etc. It's great for breakfast when family is visiting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynznest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This oatmeal had a great flavor, my family just wasn't really fond of the texture. We prefer it more "mushy". :) I've made steel cut oats overnight in the slow cooker before, and that gave us the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States