Steamed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Fast, easy and delicious. I did make a few changes. I steamed the cut zucchini for about six minutes in the microwave, then drained the liquid and arranged it in a baking pan. I drizzled it with a mixture of olive oil and garlic, and sprinkled it with salt, pepper, lemon juice and shredded Parmesan cheese. I baked it in a 350º oven for a few minutes until the cheese melted. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I'm a huge fan of zucchini and this is a great way to prepare it. I made it a little easier by steaming it in the microwave - zucchini never takes long to steam just few minutes. I only let it get tender crisp, then lightly scored it, sprinkled it with a bit of olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic then roasted it in the oven at 400 until done. Like others, I topped it off with a bit of Parmesan - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe. We thought it lacked a little something so we topped the dish off with grated parmesan cheese - AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by davebuoy
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Tried this recipe today but added some parmesan reggiano like others. I also used both yellow and green squash. It was fab. A word of caution, let the squash drain before dressing it or it will be watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebuoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
The easiest and healthiest way to prepare zucchini, yellow squash (not to mention a host of other nutritious veggies!) We added several additional cloves of garlic to the steamer, skipped the oil altogether, and topped with freshly ground pepper only. this disappears as soon as it's done. Thanks so much, Barb. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Very good. Would make again. I did not know steamed garlic mashed up so well. I also added a bit of grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Very good and very easy. I used butter instead of olive oil. The best zucchini I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This "recipe," for as basic and simple as it is, was disappointing. I chose it not for its unique qualities or its creativity, but simply for that fact that I'm not too familiar using a steamer so I chose this as a reference guide to gauge how long to steam the zucchini. Even being strictly just a "recipe" for how to steam zucchini, it was way off. The cooking time is far too long, resulting in zucchini that turned to mush once touched. For a recipe that calls for nothing more than cooking directions and simply seasoning with olive oil and a little garlic (not even salt and pepper!) one would have thought that its fundamental purpose, steaming the zucchini until done, would have offered a reliable cooking time. Next time I do this (if I even bother to steam zucchini again) I'd immediately shave a good four or five minutes off the cooking time. You can always cook it longer, but once it's mush, it's mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I'm the only zucchini fan in the family and I loved this recipe. It's healthy, easy and tasty. My family didn't care for it only because it's zucchini, not because of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I love it! I may use a little more garlic next time, and i did put a splash of salt on it...but I mean it was perfect! Will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States