Steamed Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I really enjoyed this dish. A simple and delicious entree. It also works very well with small macaroni pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I wanted to add that this works well with tofu as well. I just substitued the tofu for the tuna and added some water to the gravy and let it simmer for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
My son said, "This tastes like sloppy joes!" It could be called sloppy joe tuna fish, and we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Very good way to enhance the flavor of tuna packed in water. I used a can of diced tomato instead of ketchup, an orange pepper instead of green and oregano instead of rosemary, all just for my own personal flavor choices. I also added a couple of Tbsp. of balsamic vinegar to give it a little sweet and sour taste. My wife thought it had a Caribbean flavor. Served over brown rice for a Saturday lunch and nice way to eat healthy at a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was a really really easy and quick recipe. It's also pretty good, much better than I was expecting at first, actually. I did add some diced tomatoes as well, and served with white rice and a side salad. A reasonably healthy dinner done really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This came out great for a last minute dinner! I did not have dried rosemary. I added a few splashes of red wine vinegar to the ketchup. Served over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wawa_md

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I decided to try this for a change of pace and to use some canned tuna that was a little more strongly flavored than we like for sandwiches. As I was making it, I started having strong doubts that this could POSSIBLY be any good, and was already formulating possible scathing reviews in my mind! :P Imagine my surprise when I took the first forkful and it was actually GOOD! I used diluted tomato paste instead of ketchup, since I was out of ketchup, and it was fine; I also put it over some white rice. It was very easy to make. My only complaint is that the recipe vastly overestimates the amount of food that results...there's no way it makes enough for 6! I would double whatever the recipe calls for in order to feed the number you're shooting for, unless you're planning to serve it with several sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The trick to this is making sure the ketchup browns well. Keep stirring it so it does not burn. I love it with white rice and a glass of white wine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
It was a nice way to dress up canned tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
pretty good,especially considering amount of ingredients/time needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States