Steamed Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Very good way to enhance the flavor of tuna packed in water. I used a can of diced tomato instead of ketchup, an orange pepper instead of green and oregano instead of rosemary, all just for my own personal flavor choices. I also added a couple of Tbsp. of balsamic vinegar to give it a little sweet and sour taste. My wife thought it had a Caribbean flavor. Served over brown rice for a Saturday lunch and nice way to eat healthy at a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The trick to this is making sure the ketchup browns well. Keep stirring it so it does not burn. I love it with white rice and a glass of white wine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
My son said, "This tastes like sloppy joes!" It could be called sloppy joe tuna fish, and we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This came out great for a last minute dinner! I did not have dried rosemary. I added a few splashes of red wine vinegar to the ketchup. Served over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wawa_md

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
It was a nice way to dress up canned tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
It tasted pretty much like tuna & ketchup. Not worth the ingredients in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was a really really easy and quick recipe. It's also pretty good, much better than I was expecting at first, actually. I did add some diced tomatoes as well, and served with white rice and a side salad. A reasonably healthy dinner done really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
pretty good,especially considering amount of ingredients/time needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I wanted to add that this works well with tofu as well. I just substitued the tofu for the tuna and added some water to the gravy and let it simmer for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Great recipe for what I call a "supper saver", when you don't have many fresh ingredients in the house :) I though it should be called Sweet and Sour Tuna, I found the title misleading. I added some vegetable stock and water/cornstarch mixture to give it some sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States