Steamed Radishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
My husband and I are on a low-carb diet ...radishes are very low-carb. Anyway, I fixed these and loved them! My husband couldn't believe they were radishes. Cooking them and adding butter took away the bite and bitterness and left them mellow and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I added a dash of salt to my radishes, that really made a difference in the flavor. I also added about a tsp of lemon juice, and it seemed to bring out the flavor kicked it up a notch. This is a pretty good recipe for those looking for ways to use up an over abundance of radishes out of your garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This recipe doesn't mention that the radishes will blow off the dish's cover in their attempts to escape the microwave-safe dish and tinge the inside of your oven pink. Other than that, I liked this treatment of radishes. I added salt, butter and lemon juice and enjoyed these much more than I've ever enjoyed them raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilysometimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I just found out this year that I really like cooked radishes - and would recommend radish-lovers try them. This may not be the best recipe to start with. The cooking time is too long in my opinion, and they are going to be blandish as written. I steamed mine for about 5 minutes and added seasoning to the butter. Still, it all depends on your preference - I tend to like my veggies on the rare side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My radishes were quite big, so I cut them in half instead of peeling a strip off. I steamed them until they were fork tender, added butter, a touch of salt and lots of pepper. My husband and I were both pleasantly surprised by the mild flavor. It was very nice for a change, and I will do this again if I find myself with a bunch of radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
My husband and I are on a low-carbohydrate diet and radishes are very low-carb. I fixed these and loved them. My husband couldn't believe they were radishes. The cooking and butter took away the sharpness of the radish and lef t it very mellow. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I'm not really sure what I was expecting - after all, this is still a vegetable. Before this, I have only had radishes uncooked on a salad. After being steamed, they taste kind of like cauliflower only more bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Tasty and simple! My radishes must have been too small because they were mushy after 5 min. of microwaving. Next time, I'll cook them less. And yes, they'll be a 'next time' because we like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
The family, except one stubborn teenager who refused to try one, thought these were great! We think they taste like very mild turnips! My bro-in-law thinks the stripe of radish skin should be left on to leave a little more flavor. He wants them again tonight! Three bunches fed 3 of us, and we would have loved more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
My daughter and I thought the radishes had lost a lot of their flavor steaming the radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States