Steamed Radishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
My husband and I are on a low-carbohydrate diet and radishes are very low-carb. I fixed these and loved them. My husband couldn't believe they were radishes. The cooking and butter took away the sharpness of the radish and lef t it very mellow. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
My husband and I are on a low-carb diet ...radishes are very low-carb. Anyway, I fixed these and loved them! My husband couldn't believe they were radishes. Cooking them and adding butter took away the bite and bitterness and left them mellow and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Sorry, my friend and I both tried this recipe and didn't think it was all that great. I don't think either one of us would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
The family, except one stubborn teenager who refused to try one, thought these were great! We think they taste like very mild turnips! My bro-in-law thinks the stripe of radish skin should be left on to leave a little more flavor. He wants them again tonight! Three bunches fed 3 of us, and we would have loved more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Tasty and simple! My radishes must have been too small because they were mushy after 5 min. of microwaving. Next time, I'll cook them less. And yes, they'll be a 'next time' because we like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I'm not really sure what I was expecting - after all, this is still a vegetable. Before this, I have only had radishes uncooked on a salad. After being steamed, they taste kind of like cauliflower only more bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Maybe it's sweet for low-carb dieters, but otherwise . . . just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I wasn't impressed. There was no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
My daughter and I thought the radishes had lost a lot of their flavor steaming the radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I added a dash of salt to my radishes, that really made a difference in the flavor. I also added about a tsp of lemon juice, and it seemed to bring out the flavor kicked it up a notch. This is a pretty good recipe for those looking for ways to use up an over abundance of radishes out of your garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States