Steamed Mussels with Fennel, Tomatoes, Ouzo, and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
If you are a mussel fan you will love this dish, it's also a great dish to impress your guests. Looks and tastes complicated, but it really isn't :). I would suggest making sure that when you add the fennel it is very thinly sliced, and after dropping the fennel into the pan, test it with a fork and don't add the other ingredients until the fennel has become a bit soft. Muscles are delicate and the sauce should be too so as to complement them with a delicate sauce as well. The first time I made this the fennel was still as crispy and I had realized my mistake. The second time I let the fennel cook a bit and all around it came out spectacular. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
The recipe was great, easy to make and fabulous in flavor. I opted out out on the Ouzo, but it still tasted great and I've made it several times since. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
At first I was skeptical about the mix of flavours in this recipe and couldn't imagine them marrying well with mussels, but it was amazing. (I followed the recipe exactly and used the fresh live mussels). Twelve out of the twelve I served it to loved it. It deserves five stars. Ingredients are easy to come by, it is quick to prepare, and is an easy one to impress with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was my first attempt at preparing mussels, and they came out great. I love the broth! Didn't use the ouzo, though. I think the anise flavor would have been a little overpowering. I just substituted more white wine, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Oh my god, this is the best mussels recipe that I've ever had. I put a little twist with this recipe,because I wasn't able to find the ouzo in the local market.So I added some Jagermeilser because it has the same licuouis taste like the ouzo and I also added some fresh cilantro. You will have people begging for this dish.ouzo is a greek liquier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
OUTSTANDING!!!!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could. I made exactly as written, and made sure that I sauteed the fennel for awhile before adding the other ingredients, as per other reviews. Don't worry about too much licorice taste. It all mellows out and you are left with a simply superb dish that is 5 star worthy....TRULY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Mussels, what more can I say, I love them! This recipe was delightful and I like the ouzo touch. Nothing can go wrong with steaming mussels in any ingredients of your choice, I use varied recipes and always enjoy the soup which the mussel water helps to improve. As children in France we used the shells as spoons to eat the steamed mussels and the soup. It has to be mentioned that unopened shells MUST be discarded. Tip; I steam mussels (and clams) in a covered WOK, allows them to spread and steam better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
i'v made this recipe and it taste delicous and wonderfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Excellent from top to bottom--cannot improve on this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious! First time making mussels. Turned out great. Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States