Steamed Mussels with Fennel, Tomatoes, Ouzo, and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
So, so easy and AWESOME! The broth is killer - make sure you have a nice baguette to sop it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
A tasty alternative to the typical mussel dish. I did buy the Ouzo as I needed it in another recipe from AR. I skipped out on the basil as my grocery store was out and sliced up grape tomatoes instead a regular one as those were on sale. It came out great! Let the fennel get soft before adding the mussels. Make sure you've got some crusty bread on hand for dipping in the broth, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
No need to add anything else.Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Made these twice, the first batch wasn't so great. The ouzo was too much. The second batch minus the ouzo were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Love, love, love these mussels! Did not use the fennel or ouzo, I thought my 7 year old might not like the flavor. Didn't miss it! She actually exclaimed during dinner tonight "I am in heaven"!! What more can you ask for!! My restauranteur husband wants to add these to his menu at work! Make sure to have some crusty bread to dip in the sauce...yuuummmm! Made these again a few nights ago with frozen mussels, still really good, but just not the same as with the fresh. Also, used extra sauce to mix in to some thin spaghetti...really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great stuff. Be sure you go to a stocked grocery store, both my Kroger Marketplace and Giant Eagle did not have the ouzo or fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MatthewMario
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was easy, fast and absolutely delicious. 4 lbs of Mussels, and people where asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Awesome!!! A pleasant change from marinara. Works great with crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL!!! The photo does not display sauce/broth product which is full of flavor. Highly recommend... not "fishy" at all. My favorite mussel recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I was hesitant to try this dish with the fennel, but it was excellent. Will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Hunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States