Steamed Mussels with Fennel, Tomatoes, Ouzo, and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this last night for my husband as an appetizer and he said he would be thrilled to get this in a restaurant. I did not have the ouzo. It was the first time I ever cooked mussels. Very easy and I will definatly be making this again for company some day. I do not eat mussels but I was sopping up the broth with crusty bread I made sure I picked up as per another reveiwer's suggestion. You definatly need the bread for that wonderful broth. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Mussels, what more can I say, I love them! This recipe was delightful and I like the ouzo touch. Nothing can go wrong with steaming mussels in any ingredients of your choice, I use varied recipes and always enjoy the soup which the mussel water helps to improve. As children in France we used the shells as spoons to eat the steamed mussels and the soup. It has to be mentioned that unopened shells MUST be discarded. Tip; I steam mussels (and clams) in a covered WOK, allows them to spread and steam better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
so delicious!!!! Omitted the ouzo and was still VERY flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this recipe and added shitake mushrooms for texture (I would recommend this). I paired it with a one-part water, one part ouzo on ice. It was amazing. The recommendation to have bread is a necessity for dipping!!!! Also, would recommend picking out very fresh mussels. I used new Zealand kiwi large mussels, they were slightly fishy. I think this can be overcome by finding fresh, non-frozen mussels! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Simply amazing! I omitted the Ouza as I didnt have any laying around and didnt want the added expense, and the mussels were perfect! Nicely balanced flavor. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sherrard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Excellent from top to bottom--cannot improve on this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious! First time making mussels. Turned out great. Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Didnt use ouzo and it was still exceptional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Oh my god, this is the best mussels recipe that I've ever had. I put a little twist with this recipe,because I wasn't able to find the ouzo in the local market.So I added some Jagermeilser because it has the same licuouis taste like the ouzo and I also added some fresh cilantro. You will have people begging for this dish.ouzo is a greek liquier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
OUTSTANDING!!!!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could. I made exactly as written, and made sure that I sauteed the fennel for awhile before adding the other ingredients, as per other reviews. Don't worry about too much licorice taste. It all mellows out and you are left with a simply superb dish that is 5 star worthy....TRULY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States