Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Simplicity itself, but so delicious. Well done. Followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have a decent white wine, so I used what I had. The taste suffered as a result. Don't scrimp on the wine, and don't use more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was so easy and so delicious. I didn't have shallots and I added some garlic. I also didn't have fresh parsley so I just threw in some dry parsley. Tasted great and it only took 10 minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great recipe. As we don't use alcohol but want flavor, we used seafood stock. I would upload a picture but after the two of us attacked three pounds of mussels there are none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Family and company really enjoyed these. I made them according to recipe the first batch. The 2nd batch I followed some reviewers comments. I added 2 cloves garlic, extra butter, some cayenne pepper, then poured at bit of 1/4 up cream in juice once mussels were removed and boiled it for a few minutes before pouring over. Both methods were wonderful, but the add ins did nothing but make a good recipe great. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Loved this, added just a little heavy cream, and the broth was great! Best mussels I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy recipe... Like the others, I tweaked it by using fish broth plus the wine and added 4 cloves of garlic to the saute part. Oh and a TB olive oil. I had 2 lbs and they were very large. Needed to be cooked a little longer or in a wider pot. The ones on the top were cooked but not as much as the bottom ones were. Now I know for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Super good!!! I just ate 2 pounds of mussels for Sunday brunch and I could have eaten 4. Had to use green onions and chopped garlic instead of shallots but the wine/butter broth made it delectable. By the way, my mussels had no "beards" so cleaning was simply a matter of rinsing in fresh water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gord Marratto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I always try a receipe exactly the first time, it was good but needed something more to bring out the flavor of the mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
It's me and 3 kids under 10 and first attempt on 5 lbs of mussels from Costco. Turned out well. However for next time would not remove mussels from pot as soon as they open. I'd add 30-60 more seconds. Otherwise kids got grossed out by the ultra soft texture (which I don't mind). Or maybe I was too aggressive to cook all 5 lbs at once? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Husband really liked them. Next time I will use more garlic and less wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States