Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This is a pretty good recipe. I think I would put more butter in the sauce, and I would also add garlic. Next time I will make the sauce on the side and let it thicken up a bit, steam the mussels with regular water, and pour the sauce over the cooked mussles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I cook mussels like this all the time with just a couple of adjustments. Another reviewer said he/she would cook the mussels with plain water and pour the sauce over them, but you would loose all the lovely mussel "liquor" that comes with the cooking of them. To thicken the sauce, boil it down a little before adding the mussels, and afterwards, add a little heavy cream and boil it down more, while keeping the mussels warm, under a damp cloth in a low oven. Works like a charm and you don't loose any flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This recipe was equisite. The muscles were extrememly tender and the juices were definately worthy of dipping with crusty bread. No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This is the recipe I have used for years, and it is really excellent. I like this version better than most of the variations suggested by other reviewers, although I have added garlic on some occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Yummy and easy! Clams would be wonderful done this way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
excellent and REALLY easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
excellent and very simple recipe. a true delicacy to a steamed-mussels lovers. you would think you're sitting in a brussels restaurant. one note though - the amount mentioned (3 lbs) should fit 2 servings, not 4. have fun with it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Delicious and quick! Used 1 lb. of mussels instead (since I was cooking for one) and had more than enough for two meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Quick and easy. I made this last night as an appetizer for my husband's Valentine meal. I couldn't eat any because of a seafood allergy but the smell was divine. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These mussels were great and so simple. I substituted cilantro for the parsely. It was amazing! I also added some cream to thicken it up a bit. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States