Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Fantastic, had the family over tonight who have never had steamed mussels, 4 pounds were gone in under 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I did some minor adjustments for a more heart and body friendly version: olive oil instead of butter, chicken broth instead of white wine, and I added grape/cherry tomatoes and tons of cilantro. Delicious! It's definitely one of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wrocklage72
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I used this recipe as a base, but then also incorporated some ingredients from a second one (a restaurant copy-cat recipe). Here's what I did: I increased the butter to 4 Tbsp and added a clove of minced garlic with the shallots. I omitted the white wine (only because I didn't have any in the house) and used a mix of half water half lemon juice. I added 2 Tbsp of chopped fresh basil to the pot while steaming the mussels and omitted the parsley. The final touch was a teaspoon of Pernod added to the pot at the end. Served with plenty of bread to sop up the yummy, garlicky, lemony juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These came out perfect. Recipe worked exactly as stated and oh what a fantastic flavor. Only suggestion is that I added in a pinot gricio instead of what the recipe called for. I think either would have produced the desired flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very fine, simple recipe. I omitted the shallots, but added rough chopped onions and celery. I liked the faint butter flavor. This one goes into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Good recipe but we tweaked it a bit. We used more butter, decreased the parsley by 1/2 and put sweet basil in it's place. We also added a couple of Tbsp's of half & half at the end to thicken it up. All in all it was a good base recipe but it definitely needed a few little tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made this recipe with just a few adjustments. I used minced garlic instead of the shallot. I also used significantly more butter than the recipe called for (probably 2-3 times more), and I added a couple tablespoons of milk to make the sauce a little "creamier." It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I incorporated all the suggestions. I used a stick of butter, 1/3 cup shallots and 1/2 teas of herbes. Reduced liquid, added mussels, removed mussels, added 1/2 cup of half and half, boiled one minute, returned mussels and thoroughly enjoyed! A new family favorite. Great sopping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Very nice, used a little more shallots than what the recipe said. Served over linguine. Husband loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floripa5548

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
YAWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States