Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This receipe is fabulous! I just added a couple of cloves of garlic in with the shallats and a little extra wine. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
We have never made mussels at home before yet enjoy them time to time at a reputable restaurant. I have to say that we both thought they were absolutely fabulous if not the best we have ever had. We followed the recipe however took tips from others that had added garlic and cream, substituting cilantro for the parley. We did the same, with the addition of half a large tomato as well. Outstanding. We will certainly make these again and have found a recipe we will enjoy for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Garlic is a MUST! Delicious. Don't change a thing, just dont forget to add minced garlic. Yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
just what we were looking for-a simple recipe using white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is pretty good, and SUPER simple. I haven't spent a lot of time cooking mussels, and I knew I wanted butter and white wine. This was perfect. I took the advice of another reviewer and added an additional tablespoon of butter. I can see adding garlic to this too. We served it on top of a bed of linguine - great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vrgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Fantastic, had the family over tonight who have never had steamed mussels, 4 pounds were gone in under 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I did some minor adjustments for a more heart and body friendly version: olive oil instead of butter, chicken broth instead of white wine, and I added grape/cherry tomatoes and tons of cilantro. Delicious! It's definitely one of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wrocklage72
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I used this recipe as a base, but then also incorporated some ingredients from a second one (a restaurant copy-cat recipe). Here's what I did: I increased the butter to 4 Tbsp and added a clove of minced garlic with the shallots. I omitted the white wine (only because I didn't have any in the house) and used a mix of half water half lemon juice. I added 2 Tbsp of chopped fresh basil to the pot while steaming the mussels and omitted the parsley. The final touch was a teaspoon of Pernod added to the pot at the end. Served with plenty of bread to sop up the yummy, garlicky, lemony juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These came out perfect. Recipe worked exactly as stated and oh what a fantastic flavor. Only suggestion is that I added in a pinot gricio instead of what the recipe called for. I think either would have produced the desired flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very fine, simple recipe. I omitted the shallots, but added rough chopped onions and celery. I liked the faint butter flavor. This one goes into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States