Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Fantastic, had the family over tonight who have never had steamed mussels, 4 pounds were gone in under 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I did some minor adjustments for a more heart and body friendly version: olive oil instead of butter, chicken broth instead of white wine, and I added grape/cherry tomatoes and tons of cilantro. Delicious! It's definitely one of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wrocklage72
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I used this recipe as a base, but then also incorporated some ingredients from a second one (a restaurant copy-cat recipe). Here's what I did: I increased the butter to 4 Tbsp and added a clove of minced garlic with the shallots. I omitted the white wine (only because I didn't have any in the house) and used a mix of half water half lemon juice. I added 2 Tbsp of chopped fresh basil to the pot while steaming the mussels and omitted the parsley. The final touch was a teaspoon of Pernod added to the pot at the end. Served with plenty of bread to sop up the yummy, garlicky, lemony juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These came out perfect. Recipe worked exactly as stated and oh what a fantastic flavor. Only suggestion is that I added in a pinot gricio instead of what the recipe called for. I think either would have produced the desired flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very fine, simple recipe. I omitted the shallots, but added rough chopped onions and celery. I liked the faint butter flavor. This one goes into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Good recipe but we tweaked it a bit. We used more butter, decreased the parsley by 1/2 and put sweet basil in it's place. We also added a couple of Tbsp's of half & half at the end to thicken it up. All in all it was a good base recipe but it definitely needed a few little tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made this recipe with just a few adjustments. I used minced garlic instead of the shallot. I also used significantly more butter than the recipe called for (probably 2-3 times more), and I added a couple tablespoons of milk to make the sauce a little "creamier." It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I incorporated all the suggestions. I used a stick of butter, 1/3 cup shallots and 1/2 teas of herbes. Reduced liquid, added mussels, removed mussels, added 1/2 cup of half and half, boiled one minute, returned mussels and thoroughly enjoyed! A new family favorite. Great sopping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Very nice, used a little more shallots than what the recipe said. Served over linguine. Husband loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floripa5548

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
YAWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States