Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Simplicity itself, but so delicious. Well done. Followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have a decent white wine, so I used what I had. The taste suffered as a result. Don't scrimp on the wine, and don't use more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was so easy and so delicious. I didn't have shallots and I added some garlic. I also didn't have fresh parsley so I just threw in some dry parsley. Tasted great and it only took 10 minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great recipe. As we don't use alcohol but want flavor, we used seafood stock. I would upload a picture but after the two of us attacked three pounds of mussels there are none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Family and company really enjoyed these. I made them according to recipe the first batch. The 2nd batch I followed some reviewers comments. I added 2 cloves garlic, extra butter, some cayenne pepper, then poured at bit of 1/4 up cream in juice once mussels were removed and boiled it for a few minutes before pouring over. Both methods were wonderful, but the add ins did nothing but make a good recipe great. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Loved this, added just a little heavy cream, and the broth was great! Best mussels I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy recipe... Like the others, I tweaked it by using fish broth plus the wine and added 4 cloves of garlic to the saute part. Oh and a TB olive oil. I had 2 lbs and they were very large. Needed to be cooked a little longer or in a wider pot. The ones on the top were cooked but not as much as the bottom ones were. Now I know for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Super good!!! I just ate 2 pounds of mussels for Sunday brunch and I could have eaten 4. Had to use green onions and chopped garlic instead of shallots but the wine/butter broth made it delectable. By the way, my mussels had no "beards" so cleaning was simply a matter of rinsing in fresh water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gord Marratto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I always try a receipe exactly the first time, it was good but needed something more to bring out the flavor of the mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
It's me and 3 kids under 10 and first attempt on 5 lbs of mussels from Costco. Turned out well. However for next time would not remove mussels from pot as soon as they open. I'd add 30-60 more seconds. Otherwise kids got grossed out by the ultra soft texture (which I don't mind). Or maybe I was too aggressive to cook all 5 lbs at once? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Husband really liked them. Next time I will use more garlic and less wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States