Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Loved this, added just a little heavy cream, and the broth was great! Best mussels I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy recipe... Like the others, I tweaked it by using fish broth plus the wine and added 4 cloves of garlic to the saute part. Oh and a TB olive oil. I had 2 lbs and they were very large. Needed to be cooked a little longer or in a wider pot. The ones on the top were cooked but not as much as the bottom ones were. Now I know for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Super good!!! I just ate 2 pounds of mussels for Sunday brunch and I could have eaten 4. Had to use green onions and chopped garlic instead of shallots but the wine/butter broth made it delectable. By the way, my mussels had no "beards" so cleaning was simply a matter of rinsing in fresh water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gord Marratto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I always try a receipe exactly the first time, it was good but needed something more to bring out the flavor of the mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
It's me and 3 kids under 10 and first attempt on 5 lbs of mussels from Costco. Turned out well. However for next time would not remove mussels from pot as soon as they open. I'd add 30-60 more seconds. Otherwise kids got grossed out by the ultra soft texture (which I don't mind). Or maybe I was too aggressive to cook all 5 lbs at once? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Husband really liked them. Next time I will use more garlic and less wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Fantastic! Restaurant quality!! Great for company, has the wow factor I was looking for, everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was my first time cooking mussels and I'm surprised to find it so easy. Very delicious but I added sea salt to taste. Overall, I like this simple and quick recipe. Thanks for helping me overcome the fear of cooking mussels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a great simple recipe, perfect with some crusty bread. I had an Italian sparkling wine on hand when I made it and it was perfect. I would suggest pairing this recipe with a lambic beer. I had an apple one just to have with this. I wonder how it would taste with a belgian wheat beer. Maybe someone else could try it and post how it was?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Fantastic! All I did was add about a tbsp of garlic! Definitely get some bread to soak up all the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdembo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States