Steamed Mashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Texture is strange (NOT like mashed potatoes). Goat cheese flavor is strong. Yuch/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I wouldn't say that this recipe gives something that tastes like mashed potatoes, but it make delicious cauliflower! I love goat cheese, and you can really taste it in this dish. I saute 3 cloves of garlic in 2 tsp of butter and added that and it was really good. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great recipe! I love mashed potatoes but don't need the starch... this is a great compromise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this dish tonight and we loved it..... Nice change from the regular steamed cauliflower ....... I will make this dish for now on.!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
You don't need a head of fresh cauliflower. Frozen florets work fine. I don't use goat cheese, but fat-free (or low-fat) cream cheese instead. I also add a few herbs and minced onion when microwaving the cauliflower. We love it, but I wouldn't necessarily call it a true substitute for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I have made a version of this with cream cheese but I will have to try it with the goat cheese. It will be a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Good but looked nothing like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I make this all the time! My husband even prefers it to the Carb Loaded potatoes. I add a teaspoon of Brown Gravy Powder, 1/2 tsp Onion Powder and 1/2 tsp Garlic Powder to it for that real potato flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlealien1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Selva Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I liked the taste and texture. I may try to add garlic and onion powder to spiff up some tasting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilbretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Having read the other reviews, I added a couple potatoes to the cauliflower. I boiled the potatoes separately and microwaved the Cauliflower. I put the cauliflower in the processor and mashed well, then loosely mashed the potatoes separately adding butter, garlic, & sour cream. Then I added the mashed cauliflower. It was actually delicious. My husband loves mashed potatoes and I don't think he would have known detected the difference if I hadn't told him. Without the potatoes, I thought the mashed cauliflower texture was a little off-putting. Since we don't really like the taste of cauliflower, I'm always looking for new ways to mask the taste because of the health benefits. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States