Steamed Lobster Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Good basic method -- and the skewers are a great idea as another rater suggested. Beware, however, we had 2 1-lb tails. I put them in a big steamer pot but on a small burner. When the water came to boil, I put the lobster tails in but lost a lot of heat. So 6 minutes turned into about 12 -- and not until I realized I needed the big burner. I felt like they might be rubbery, but they turned out great despite my mistake. Thanks for this easy method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
If your not used to cooking lobster tails, steaming is definitely the way to go:) I also butterfly the tails and lay the meat on top. Very pretty presentation. (do this before steaming, broiling or baking) Rule of thumb is usually 1 to 1 min. 30 sec. per ounce. Another option is to take them out of the steamer 1-2min. early and finish up in a broiler pan to get some light browning on top- be very careful not to overcook. I serve using clarified butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very simple easy recipe. I also added lemon and garlic to the steaming water. I had smaller tails so I cooked them for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Bought lobster tails from Costco...and decided to use the easiest recipe, since I love lobster and didn't want to waste it by making it rubbery. The tails we bought were pretty big so ended up cooking them 10 minutes all together, but checking after 5 and then 7.5 minutes. I also snipped down the centre of the shell so checking for doneness was easier, as was removing from the shell. Can't wait to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by staceywatts
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Very good basic recipe. I made a couple changes. I added a clove of crushed garlic to the water along with the sea salt. I also reduced the cooking time to 7 minutes although next time I will reduce it further to 6 minutes. I used 6 ounce tails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a good recipe to start with. Will adjust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Simple yet delicious! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I don't like lobster but I made these for the bf and he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
this was the first time my husband and I were trying lobster for the first time and we just don't like the lobster. We did add garlic to the boil and it gave a good flavor we just didn't like lobster meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyblu9905

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This turned out great! As many other reviewers said, cook between 6 and 7 minutes any longer the meat would have been too tough. I also added cilantro and garlic to the water which enhanced the flavor and of course made the meal smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States