Steamed Lobster Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
First time making lobster tails and the hubby was impressed! :) Researched and found that steaming was more recommended than broiling. I tried to butterfly them but the shell was too hard to pull back! At least for me. I cut the time to 6 minutes per reviews and turned out great. Served with clarified butter. Great for the first time trying! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Easiest way ever to fix lobster tails! I added some lemon juice to the salted water, and steamed 2 - 4-oz. tails for 5 minutes- perfect! I cut the shells before steaming, and they were pretty easy to take off. GreAt method - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've tried doing Lobster tails on the bbq many times with varying degrees of success. After reading this recipe I decided to give it a try and these were the best tasting and easiest Lobster tails I've ever made. Thanks for taking the time to post this Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Good basic method -- and the skewers are a great idea as another rater suggested. Beware, however, we had 2 1-lb tails. I put them in a big steamer pot but on a small burner. When the water came to boil, I put the lobster tails in but lost a lot of heat. So 6 minutes turned into about 12 -- and not until I realized I needed the big burner. I felt like they might be rubbery, but they turned out great despite my mistake. Thanks for this easy method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
If your not used to cooking lobster tails, steaming is definitely the way to go:) I also butterfly the tails and lay the meat on top. Very pretty presentation. (do this before steaming, broiling or baking) Rule of thumb is usually 1 to 1 min. 30 sec. per ounce. Another option is to take them out of the steamer 1-2min. early and finish up in a broiler pan to get some light browning on top- be very careful not to overcook. I serve using clarified butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very simple easy recipe. I also added lemon and garlic to the steaming water. I had smaller tails so I cooked them for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Bought lobster tails from Costco...and decided to use the easiest recipe, since I love lobster and didn't want to waste it by making it rubbery. The tails we bought were pretty big so ended up cooking them 10 minutes all together, but checking after 5 and then 7.5 minutes. I also snipped down the centre of the shell so checking for doneness was easier, as was removing from the shell. Can't wait to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by staceywatts
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Very good basic recipe. I made a couple changes. I added a clove of crushed garlic to the water along with the sea salt. I also reduced the cooking time to 7 minutes although next time I will reduce it further to 6 minutes. I used 6 ounce tails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a good recipe to start with. Will adjust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Simple yet delicious! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Broiled Lobster Tails

This elegant dish is perfect for any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States