Steamed Green Tea Cake with Black Sesame Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
this cake is not bad~~! i also added one cup of adzuki beans to it and some fruit with the whipped cream topping~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This cake is not a "wow" but it sure is very good. I reduced the sugar, and used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of splenda. The splenda does not affect the taste of the cake at all, so this is a good recipe for diabetics. I also baked 3/4 of the batter in a cake pan and the remaining 1/4 in 2 ramekins. Both version turned out well. Best served right out of the steamer :) I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This tasted like the recipe for Chinese steamed cake (on this website). I used one cup of white sugar. I didn't have any black sesame seeds, but it was delicious anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Brilliant. not greasy and fluffy. the only thing is i dont know how to fold the white to the yolk mixture, i have to MIX it. theres several parts of the yolk mixture that doesnt really mixed well with the white and it turns dense ( not fluffy) next time i'll add pinch of salt and double the green tea. and i dont know how to make a preety cake like yours, mine stick to the metal container. i'll use parchment paper next time. we call this cake "kue bolu" in indonesia. they use small cup ( much like muffin cup) lined with parchment paper and fill it with cake batter and steam it. the taste is pretty much the same. i love this comfort food and this is a good option when you are ill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily Walpole
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was surprisingly easy to make. I used my B&D Electric Steamer. I poured most of the recipe into the oval plastic container and the rest into 4 ramekins. It took about 15 minutes for the ramekins and 20 for the oval plastic container to steam fully. Thanks for the recipe. I was skeptical about folding in the egg whites, but it worked. It was very fluffy and not dense for me. Would go well with cream cheese icing. In my opinion, most things go well with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
it tastes great. the only problem i have with it is that it's a little dry. it's really good to eat with milk. =D i've made it several times now and it's definitely a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
The only way I could get this cake to cook was to put the batter onto wax paper, and place that directly onto the bamboo steamer. Served with light whipped and frozen raspberries. Was the perfect compliment. VERY HEALTHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fantastic recipe! My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Really light, interesting texture - like an angel food cake. I might use more green tea next time for a more obvious flavor. I had to finish baking it in the oven because the bamboo steamer was not getting the job done. Really good served with Greek vanilla honey caramel frozen yogurt, to compensate for a slight dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States