Steamed Fish with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My husband licked his plate clean...literally. Did not change a thing (except how I steamed it without a steamer using various items found around the house. Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is so easy to make and tastes delicious. I didn't use the peanut oil due to food allergies - I just used more seasame oil. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe. What a healthy, simple, quick dish. Even my picky 5 yr old devoured it and asked for 2nds. My 4 yr old who proclaimed he only will eat salmon also couldn't get enough and said, "I guess I like halibut, too." For busy moms who are looking for a fresh, healthy, quick meal - put this one in your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
YUM!!! We tried something new for the Chinese New Year and it's now a favorite of ours. I left out the peanut oil because I didn't have it and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A surprise hit with my two finicky sons and husband. Very simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was great. Instead of pouring heated oil over the fish at the end, I mixed it with the soy sauce warmed it (not to the point that it smoked) and poured it on once the fish was cooked. I hate it when oil splatters and this avoided that mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was my most successful fish dish ever. And I tried it for the first time with company, who raved. I didn't have a steamer large enough to handle servings for 6. So, I improvised with a large, deep frying pan with 3" water, an ovenproof ramekin in the center to support a Pyrex dish containing the fish and ginger above the water, and covering all with a lid. This worked pretty well. Fish was very tasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My family loved this!! I followed another reviewers advice and put my ceramic dish into a large covered skillet with water since I did not have a steamer. I also used two different types of sesame oil since I did not have peanut oil on hand. And I used regular onions in place of green onions. Even so, this dish was awesome!! It was quick and easy. Next time I will try to have the right things on hand to see if it tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This dish came out perfectly! I followed the recipe but used striped bass as I like a lighter fish. This was a hit at our Chinese New Year party this year. Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
A very tasty, easy-to-prepare dish with a knockout presentation.I served this on a bed of savoy cabbage and got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuitarChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
A very easy and delicious way to prepare almost any fish. I had never steamed fish before and wow - it was very moist and so flavorful. For me, the peanut oil seemed unnecessary so I used only the sesame oil and only regular (low sodium) soy. This will become a staple for us! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States