Steamed Fish with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is a great quick meal. I used Cod, and omitted the salt (no need for it with the soy sauce), used only dark soy sauce (mixed with a pinch of sugar to tone down the saltiness), and used sunflower and flax seed oil as that is what I had on hand. I also put the green onion on the fish in the steamer. Served over brown rice with chopped cilantro and more chopped green onion...deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
A great recipe to have. I did this without the peanut oil (could not find!) and just used regular soy sauce. My fish was dory. It came out quite nicely. The cilantro makes it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Pretty fish. Very nice and easy, too. The drippings that are captured on the plate under the fish are great to put on your rice at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Tasty. The cooking process was a little overwhelming for me. i will just bake it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakkeya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Caution: First, steam fish, drain plate of water completely, then cut 2" scallion lengthwise very thin, ginger likewise in 2" long thin matchstick size and scatter over fish. Heat oil and pour over scallion, ginger, and fish. NOW pour on soy sauce. Pouring 400+ degree oil into water-based liquid is a recipe for disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very simple and easy to make. Bought a bamboo steamer about 3 years ago and glad to put it to use where the first time I used it the meal came out amazing. I agree with the rest of the readers who said - No need for any changes! I paired this with Jasmine Rice and at the bottom of the steamer steamed, broccoli, asaparagus and red pepper (so there was sweet plus crunchy texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The best fish I've had in a long time!! My husband doesn't care for fish but loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I realize that my review isn't necessary to encourage others to try this recipe as the reviews so far are stellar. But, I need to say that my first attempt was such a hit with my family. My 16 yr old son even raved. And I wantto reiterate what several people have said, that this recipe is very flexible. I used only what I had on hand: Costco's frozen steelhead trout (thawed, of course,) sliced yellow onion, purslane instead of cilantro, and instead of light soy sauce, I used pomegranate balsamic vinegar. Oh, and I used a wok with a glass pyrex baking dish to steam it. I think using the balsamic vinegar cut the saltiness that some reviewers mentioned. Whatever I did worked brilliantly. I really think I could have served this dish in a four star restaurant and no one would have been wiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitarl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a gorgeous recipe and I have added it to our favorites!!! This would be a great meal for entertaining. We served with asian coleslaw and cilantro brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Outstanding - I had to improvise on the steaming option too but it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States