Steamed Egg (Chawan Mushi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I love the simplicity and versatility of this dish. You can hardly go wrong. I used pieces of shrimp instead of chicken. I love the fact that you can use less eggs although I am going to try it sometime with reduced broth to see if the texture changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My kids love it and complimented that I made it more nicer than the Jap restaurant. Will make this often and share with everybody who loves cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
The kids liked them a lot and asked for me to make them again. My husband and I thought that they were just OK. Maybe on a cold winters day. Tasted similar to egg drop soup but the consistency was ..different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
it's the most healtier food expecially for people want to diet. Likewise like me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I wasn't wowed by this. For the amount of work that went into cooking it, I expected a better dish. Flavor was bland and uninteresting. Texture was nice and smooth, though, and aesthetically, it was a nice dish to serve to dinner party guests. I woudn't make this specific recipe again. It wasn't bad. It just wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Amazing, even as a 3 ingredient dish: egg, chicken broth, and dash of Taiwanese Rice Wine rather than sake. The texture as is was perfect... soft and silky. Can't wait to make this again with shiitake mushrooms and prawns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Definitely calls for too much broth, but aside from that, this was delicious, and fast. Versatile, too - I didn't use the sake or mushrooms, but used chicken, onions and a little cumin. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
awesome comfort food. Better to invest in good prawns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Simple, easy and taste terrific. What else can you ask for? I substituted the chicken with shrimp and came out even betteR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I took the advice of those who reduced the broth, but I had no cooked chicken breast. What I did have was leftover lamb and it was FANTASTIC (I figure most any egg dish is essentially an omelet to toss in what you wish anyway). No steamer so I inverted a couple of ramekins into the water to raise the egg filled ones off of the bottom of the bottom of the pot to make sure it was cooking with steam and not direct contact with the heating element. Just like advertised, it came out light, aromatic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csm-dad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States