Steamed Egg (Chawan Mushi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Meowz
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is very similar to the traditional recipe I know of. The key of steaming eggs is to keep the heat at medium low or low to obtain a smooth surface. I also lay shrimps and ginkgo nuts when the surface is set and steam for about 7 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I also decreased the amount of broth by half and the steam eggs were perfectly creamy and soft. Be sure to cook it gently over medium low heat. Instead of the mushroom, I added in kernels of cooked corn and minced chicken (raw is fine). I also added a touch of sesame oil. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Wonderfull! I tried this recipie out for brunch today and it was simply delectable. My guests at first were a bit hesitent, but found it adictive as they delved into the dish. A suggestion, one may wish to decrease the chicken stock to a half cup if one wants a more solid texture to the egg. As the result with one cup can be slightly soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I took the advice of those who reduced the broth, but I had no cooked chicken breast. What I did have was leftover lamb and it was FANTASTIC (I figure most any egg dish is essentially an omelet to toss in what you wish anyway). No steamer so I inverted a couple of ramekins into the water to raise the egg filled ones off of the bottom of the bottom of the pot to make sure it was cooking with steam and not direct contact with the heating element. Just like advertised, it came out light, aromatic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csm-dad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I wish I had listened to the earlier reviewers, rather than trying to exactly follow the recipe the first time. Half the broth would have been better, as it separated out somewhat. Cooking on low heat likely would have produced a smoother end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was quite nice, simple flavors that blended well with each other. I made a substitution of the sake with zinfandel. In my bowl I used turkey and in my husband's chicken. Also I threw a bit of green onion on top with the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Simple, easy and taste terrific. What else can you ask for? I substituted the chicken with shrimp and came out even betteR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I have been looking for chawan mushi recipe and never got it correct. This is the first time i made it right. Thank you. The recipe is wonderful, the texture just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I wasn't wowed by this. For the amount of work that went into cooking it, I expected a better dish. Flavor was bland and uninteresting. Texture was nice and smooth, though, and aesthetically, it was a nice dish to serve to dinner party guests. I woudn't make this specific recipe again. It wasn't bad. It just wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
The kids liked them a lot and asked for me to make them again. My husband and I thought that they were just OK. Maybe on a cold winters day. Tasted similar to egg drop soup but the consistency was ..different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States