Steamed Christmas Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I started making this 2 years ago and my boys ask for it every Christmas now! My oldest will eat the whole thing if I'd let him and I had to make more than one many times! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is delightful! I mix everything according to the directions but after putting it all in the pudding mold, I put it into the pressure cooker for about 50 minutes. Turns out beautifully every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Fool-proof recipe that readily accepts endless tinkering. Cooked exactly as described it's terrific and comes out on the cake-like end of the Christmas Pudding continuum. If you simply swap the self-rising flour for all-purpose flour, and swap the white sugar out for brown, you'll get a pudding over on the dense-sticky side (my favorite). I often make several of each type for a gathering to cover all tastes. And the guests have a good time comparing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Fantastic pudding recipe! I have been using regular mincemeat, rum & raisin mincemeat or brandy & date mincemeat. They all turn out delicious! I have made 6 so far this year and hand them out as Christmas or New Year's gifts. I usually pour a shot of very hot brandy over the pudding and light it to make a nice effect. Since I can't find sour cream here, I replace it with strained yogurt (Fage). If someone doesn't like yogurt I serve it with custard cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Overall, very moist and tasty, and surprisingly easy. I made it three days before Christmas and used half-and-half brown sugar and white sugar and added an additional teaspoon of cinnamon with a half-teaspoon each of cloves, ginger, and nutmeg. I lined the bottom of the basin with bay leaves to make a pattern on the top of the pudding when it came out, then poured in the batter, wrapped with a few layers of foil, tied it with twine to make a handle for lowering it into the water, and boiled it for about three hours. It's shelf-stable and doesn't lose any of its moistness when sitting. On Christmas day, I re-wrapped it and boiled it for about another forty-five minutes, then turned it out on a plate and made the cream sauce by heating the ingredients and whipping them together. It was a big hit - very rich, though; next time, I'll make the sauce from light sour cream and light cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this today. It was wonderful. Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was my first Christmas pudding. It was very easy to make, and wonderful! I doubled this, and then used a metal mixing bowl as my mold. It took 4 hours to steam. I was very happy with the results! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Just delicious! Thanks, Leeza, for a new Christmas tradition. I added a dash of vanilla to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was just PERFECT! Very moist and has the perfect balance of ingredients. I wouldn't change anything at all. I did not have a rack that would fit into my boiling water pot, so I made a 1/2 inch ring out of foil and placed my mold on that. It came out beautiful and I will make this every Christams from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Woolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is really good, however, I do not like mincemeat, so omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States