Steamed Christmas Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I didn't have self-rising flour so I added 1-1/2 tsp. baking powder and it rose fine. Also, instead of steaming it I baked it at 350° for an hour. It was wonderfully moist and I think the sweetened cream sauce is perfect for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I don't usually keep self-rising flour around, so I used regular flour instead and added a teaspoon of baking powder. It turned out just fine. And I used up my leftover canned pumpkin and cranberry sauce, and the result was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This recipe is awesome! My husband is from the UK and said it was one of the best Christmas Pudd's he's ever had (it probably helps that it has his favorite ingredient in it...PUMPKIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I like to "test" holiday recipes way early in order to have enough time to decide what to make/give to family and friends each year. This is a winner all the way around. I'll be baking it in small loaf pans instead of steaming it, and that's the only change I'll make to this recipe. Thanks, Leeza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Overall, very moist and tasty, and surprisingly easy. I made it three days before Christmas and used half-and-half brown sugar and white sugar and added an additional teaspoon of cinnamon with a half-teaspoon each of cloves, ginger, and nutmeg. I lined the bottom of the basin with bay leaves to make a pattern on the top of the pudding when it came out, then poured in the batter, wrapped with a few layers of foil, tied it with twine to make a handle for lowering it into the water, and boiled it for about three hours. It's shelf-stable and doesn't lose any of its moistness when sitting. On Christmas day, I re-wrapped it and boiled it for about another forty-five minutes, then turned it out on a plate and made the cream sauce by heating the ingredients and whipping them together. It was a big hit - very rich, though; next time, I'll make the sauce from light sour cream and light cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was my first Christmas pudding. It was very easy to make, and wonderful! I doubled this, and then used a metal mixing bowl as my mold. It took 4 hours to steam. I was very happy with the results! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Fantastic pudding recipe! I have been using regular mincemeat, rum & raisin mincemeat or brandy & date mincemeat. They all turn out delicious! I have made 6 so far this year and hand them out as Christmas or New Year's gifts. I usually pour a shot of very hot brandy over the pudding and light it to make a nice effect. Since I can't find sour cream here, I replace it with strained yogurt (Fage). If someone doesn't like yogurt I serve it with custard cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was just PERFECT! Very moist and has the perfect balance of ingredients. I wouldn't change anything at all. I did not have a rack that would fit into my boiling water pot, so I made a 1/2 inch ring out of foil and placed my mold on that. It came out beautiful and I will make this every Christams from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Woolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I'm giving this a 4 as a Christmas bread but not a pudding. I had to make my own self-rising flour so maybe that had something to do with it. It was very "cakey" not dense as I was hoping for. It had very good flavor and was was eaten very quickly. The only change I made was using pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. Oh..also steamed it in 2 loaf pans for 2 hours. I'll make this again, add some nuts and try baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Just delicious! Thanks, Leeza, for a new Christmas tradition. I added a dash of vanilla to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States