Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have a Zojirushi 2 lb loaf bread machine. I adjusted this recipe as follows: 1 1/4 cup water,1 1/2 tbls. butter/marg, 3/4 tsp salt, 2 cups bread flour, 1 1/4 cups whole wheat bran flour, 2 tsp. Red Star Active Dry Yeast. I eliminated the sugar, and left the honey, coffee and cocoa powder the same as original recipe. I also added 1 tsp. gluten flour. The bread came out perfect......it rose right up to the top of bread pan. I used basic bread/medium crust setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
LET ME STATE TWO THINGS FROM THE GET GO: I didn't think about measuring out the yeast, I just automatically added the whole packet and I do not own a bread machine. I made this bread with my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end. I warmed the honey with the water to very warm, not hot. (Boiling water will kill your yeast.) I dissolved the coffee in the warm honey water, then added it to the yeast in the mixer bowl and let it proof for ten minutes. After that, I added the melted butter, then the rest of the ingredients. I needed about a 1/4 c. of extra whole wheat flour to get the dough together enough to pull together and jump on the hook. I greased up the dough just a bit with a little of the butter from the bowl I melted the butter in, then set it to knead with the hook for five minutes. I let it rise in a greased metal bowl on my warm oven for an hour, then shaped it into a loaf and set it to rise in the loaf pan for another hour and a half, or until it almost rose above the loaf pan. I baked it at 350* for about 25 minutes, or until it smelled done. This is a nice whole wheat loaf with a distinctive flavor that is really like nothing I've ever had before. Just outstanding. Fluffy and rich tasting, almost like a bakery bread. This would be great with a nice hearty stew. I'd make this again. NOTE: Make sure your loaf pan is well greased. I had a difficult time getting this particular bread out of my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I have never used a Bread Machine before or even made Homeade bread from scratch. Even after reading the bad reviews, I made this bread on my first attempt. I went by rkplucker advice and put it for 1 1/2 loaf. When I kept peeking in, it did look "gooey", up until the last hour. Then it came out great! It tastes great too! I made this again for my 3rd loaf and plan on making this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This really is like steak-house bread! Mine wasn't goopy as other reviews say, it was perfect. Infact I took the bread out 10 min. early. Didn't have instant coffee, so used left over AM coffee instead of the water asked for. Also added a little extra honey for a totally sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheriewatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SELA96
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is my new favorite bread!!!! I make bread at least twice a week. I haven't bought "store" bread in a long time because my kids won't eat it! We love homemade bread & this is a new favorite! I only use the dough cycle though. I doubled this recipe for my 2-lb machine and used the dough cycle. When it was complete I took it out and formed it into balls. I got 24 balls from this doubled recipe. These make great sandwich buns or dinner rolls. This bread rose VERY nicely and wasn't sticky AT ALL. You MUST use bread flour and NOT all purpose white flour. If you choose to use the dough cycle and then bake it on your own as I do - just form the balls and put out on 2 sprayed cookie sheets, cover with plastic wrap and let rise another 30 mins or until doubled in size and then remove wrap carefully & bake at 325 for 15 - 20 mins. (Depends on your oven.) If you use typical loaf pans then extend baking time to about 20 - 30 mins. You could also try mini loaf pans! DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELA96

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I thought this bread was delicious. The batter was kinda wet and next time I will use about a tablespoon less water. The loaf sank a little in the middle but the bread was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe is the best. Warm or room temp, the bread has a great flavor and texture. It freezes well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Good recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was the bomb!!! So delicious! My kids said it wasn't exactly like the steakhouse bread, it was better! I used my machine to make the dough, then I made mini-loaves in my PC mini-loaf pan. I had to wait for about 1 1/2 hours for the loaves to rise (colder environment, maybe.) Then I baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Making them again tomorrow! Trying rolls this time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This recipe didn't work at all! It doesn't say what size loaf - so I guessed in the middle at 1 1/2 lbs. It just made a big gooey mess! A complete waste of ingredients and $$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States