Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Well I can only say that my loaf of bread came out so big and fluffy. I did it for a 2lb machine. I Love the flavor, the texture, and the consistency. THANKS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grisel Gallardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My whole family loves this - I have even made it twice it one day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My family really enjoyed this bread, but found it heavy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazybuslady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wow, this bread is really good! It's probably the best that's ever come out of my bread machine. But the original poster really needs to modify the recipe because as many people have mentioned, the dough is way too wet. I ended up adding an extra 1-2 Tbsp. of flour to get it to the consistency it should have been. That said, any bread machine user who's read the machine's directions should know that you don't just dump all the ingredients in the pan and walk away. A careful baker will watch the dough as it's being kneaded and make liquid or flour adjustments as necessary. To the people who said this bread was weird or bitter tasting I suggest you check the quality of your ingredients. I used pure unsweetened cocoa powder and a coffee substitute I get from the health food store. There was no weird or bitter taste at all. True, the bread is a little sweet but no where near as sweet as dessert. The people who said it was too sweet either don't like sweet at all or maybe they used sweetened cocoa powder or chocolate milk powder or something. Fantastic bread. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this bread last night for a birthday dinner. After getting all the ingredients mixed I got to the point in the recipe where it doesn't tell you the size of the loaf! I set it for a small loaf however after reading the reviews I pulled the dough out at the end of cycle and baked in two small loaf pans. I let it rise (30 to 45 mins) and baked at 350 degrees for about 20 to 30 mins. The result was 2 perfect loaves. We ate one loaf for dinner that night warm out of the oven and I had a couple slices for breakfast the next morning from the second loaf. I did not care for this bread warm out of the oven (go figure), the flavor was weird. Like other reviews I could taste the wheat, coffee, cocoa etc. However, the next morning it was great, the flavors seemed to blend. I will make this a day early next time...much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Comparing the quantities to the recipes that came with my machine, this is for a one pound loaf. I used porter beer instead of the water, warmed in a hot water bath with the honey and butter in it. Very nice, chewy without being dense. I might put some oats on top just before baking next time to see what happens. It makes superlative toast The crust is very dark, even on the light setting, but doesn't taste burned, and putting it in a plastic bag or cover with a bit of room while it's still warm will soften it quite a bit. Definitely one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
SO GOOD!! Much better if you use the kind of instant coffee in the single serving packets in staid of the other stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This recipe too sweet, I will suggest to use half tablespoon sugar instead!honey remain same quantity. The bread texture is nice, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I did not care for this bread, it did not rise enough, and didnt like the coffee flavoring. Will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
We LOVE this recipe and make it often -- it's perfect as is. We have made it with white flour and it tastes great as well. Works great in the bread machine on 1lb loaf setting. If I make it on the 1.5lb loaf setting, I usually just watch it and take it out 10-15 minutes early so the crust doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States