Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great! Slightly sweet, slightly bitter, but it works! Was great with breakfast the next morning too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I was very excited when I discovered this recipe. I have been making bread by hand, since I given up on my bread machine. I have never had a loaf of bread come out right using the bread machine. So, I used the bread machine again and I was disappointed again. Now the bread machine will continue collecting dust. The end result trying this recipe was that the coffee was just a little over powering, heavy, dense, and a little gooey. The next time I will add less coffee. The bread was different than what I remember the Steakhouse serving. I will make this bread again, but using the good old hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe is fantastic--I'll have to double the recipe though next time as it did make a small loaf. I left out the instant coffee and loved the way it came out--dense, moist, a bit sweet but the cocoa balances it out. Fantastic. Not sure why others had problems with the recipe. Great loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. The loaf came out a little strange looking...sort of lopsided. I am not sure if it was because it just wasn't enough dough for my machine (which is supposed to do anything from 1-2 lbs) or that the dough was much gloppier than others so it didn't form the nice loaf it usually does. Regardless, it tasted really good, the texture was fine once baked, and everyone in the family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made mine on the wheat cycle, medium crust and it came out wonderful. We ate it straight out of the bread machine with corned beef and cabbage. Everyone loved it and were surprised to learn the ingredients. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made this using just bread flour and kept everything else the same and it was great. It had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yesterday was a chilly and gray October Sunday, and I was in the mood for Soup... This was the perfect bread to make, and it turned out all sorts of wonderful! I have a 2-LB Bread machine, so I upscaled the recipe to 12 servings (1-1/2 loaves). The only change I made was out of necessity; I used Orville Reddenbacher Buttery-flavored popping oil (soybean base) for my fat. (and then ran to the store for more butter while the machine was doing it's thing!) It actually worked out very well, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very good just as written. Note: if you add 3 tablespoons of soy flour to the measuring cup before adding the bread flour, the baked bread will stay fresh longer (this also adds extra nutrition). However, soy flour smells funny, so don't be alarmed. Once baked, it will smell delicious just like bread should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was a good, flavorful bread, but not the best wheat bread recipe I have tried. It was a little sweet for my tastes, and it didn't keep for as long as I am used to with a wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This bread is DELICIOUS!! I LOVE it. We don't drink coffee so i put in some Pero granules, a malted barley drink, and I used 1 3/4 C whole wheat flour and a 1/4 cup white flour instead, and it was light and to die for. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States